We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Luigi's Restaurant

Luigi's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went on a Saturday night with some friends and were treated to wonderful meal served by a friendly and effecient staff. The food arrived quickly and was well prepared and tasty. I will be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lowxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

food is good, staff is nice. Love this place, kids do too, but Tiberios in old saybrook is still one of my favorite italian restaurants. I reccomend Luigi's though love it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, CT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family loves this restaurant. The food is excellent, and I
believe that the employees are family. We love the pasta,
the salads etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Been a Faithful Patron Since the Old Location...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When I was just a kid, my parents used to take us down to the CT shoreline once or maybe twice a year. And when we went down there we always ate at Luigi's Restaurant in Old Saybrook. Their old location (where a travel agency or Pizza Hut is now?) had many visits from my family going back to the early 1980s.

Of course Luigi's eventually expanded by moving down the street a ways. Thankfully the quality and experience remains equality great as what I remember from my youth.

So much so that over the last 10 years my wife and I have made many annual visits back to this restaurant. Luigi's has never disappointed me. From the fresh baked bread they bring you to the unique and flavorful pizza offerings I have never left here unsatisfied. The service always feels very cordial and welcoming.

My wife absolutely loves the 6-cheese 'purses' pasta special.

If you are in the area and want to try a true staple of what local and family owned Italian is all about, please stop in! You won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom-in-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian in CT”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been going here for many years and think it is the best Italian place on the shoreline. Very good pizza and nice warming main dishes. The place is usually very busy and has a dedicated clientele from what I can tell. The owners are very friendly. It is not clear to me why the trip adviser reviews are not perfect, I think they are wrong. This restaurant has good wholesome basic Italian food in a nice setting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing