We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for the parties”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Luigi's Restaurant

Luigi's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Watch out for the parties”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

All in all, the food and service were good, but we unfortunately picked the wrong time to show up for a late lunch. Right after we were seated, a bus load of unruly kids showed up for a birthday party. No matter what the staff/owners did, the kids would not listen, and behaved like a pack of wild chimpanzees. When my girlfriend went to the bathroom, she had little boys trying to open the door on her. To make matters worse, the adults attending the party allowed these kids to do whatever they wanted. This doesn't mean that it was all the restaurant's fault, but it shows what kind of society we live in where kids can go into a nice restaurant and tear it up. I don't think Luigi's should allow these types of parties, especially when there are other guests trying to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikerwarewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you live in the Connecticut River Valley, sure, you can drive 30+ minutes out of your way to Pepe's or Sally's in New Haven, but why bother with the crowds when you can go to Luigi's right here on the Shoreline!

I love going to Luigi's for grinders and pizzas. My favorites are the Italian Combo grinder with Genoa salami with some marinated peppers on the side. The pizza is great too, always cooked to perfection and never too greasy.

Every time, my order is perfect - even if I ask for light crust, peppers on the side or whatever my whimsy is that day.

While I would really love to go with five stars, I just can't due to the pick-up service. About 75% of the time I call ahead for a pick-up order, it's not ready at the promised time. I know restaurants can get busy at the drop of a hat, but I'm busy too, I have people waiting and really don't appreciate waiting an extra 15-20 minutes on top of the pick-up time.

Although I have to say, thank you kindly for the improvements to the waiting area and the lounge/bar. The work is lovely!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nutella42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistantly delicious and perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our family loves this restaurant. We come here if we just want pizza or if we are having a special occasion and want a special dinner. The food is great, the service is always wonderful and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The staff makes you feel like family.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plenty good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were looking for a nice restaurant while we stayed for a night in Old Saybrook. The restaurant is a nice american-italian family-restaurant. The dinner there was really nice altough there were a lot of people in the middle of the week, so maybe you need a reservation at the weekends. The service was great as well as the food. The portions of the food were really large and we had to take something with us as we couldn't eat everything.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Looking for a romantic night out - keep looking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I are new to the area and had noticed that Luigi's was always very crowded whenever we drove by. So we tried it this Saturday night. The place was packed but we were seated immediately but at a snug booth for two near the front porch windows. My issues: the restaurant sits right along RT 1 and at a traffic light. My view was distracted by the constant flow of traffic. If it wasn't cars or Fire trucks whizzing by - it was the gyrations and shenanigans of the little kids sitting next to us. Now the food - my first time at an Italian restaurant - I try to have their pasta - so I ordered the Ravioli with a side of sausage. My wife had Eggplant Parmesan with a side of meatballs. The sauce was uneventful - a bit watery, the Eggplant was 85% batter and the raviolis were bland. The meatballs were heavy on the garlic while the sausage was boiled but tasty. Service was friendly. So my advice - if you have family - this could be a good place for you as they also serve Pizza. If you are looking for a quiet night with your significant other - go somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing