We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Places for Pizza on the CT Shoreline”
Review of Pizza Works

Pizza Works
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best Places for Pizza on the CT Shoreline”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Pizzaworks makes a delicious Three Cheese Special with grated romano, parmesan & gorgonzola cheeses. Sure, Pepe's is about half an hour away in New Haven but for my money this pizza is just about as good. The restaurant has a casual atmosphere and its model train sets upstairs are really impressive—and checking them out is a great way for families to pass the time while waiting for the pizza to arrive!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, CT
Level Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We thought we could get a good thin crust white pizza with a bit of sausage, but . . .”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We thought we would try this Pizzeria and Restaurant at the train station, but were disappointed with the quality and presentation of the pizza we ordered. Sausage seemed crumbled and pre-cooked and sprinkled on. Cheese had no flavor. Even the wine by the glass I ordered when the pizza was late in coming out was ordinary.
Woul I go back? In an emergency with all other places out of power, sure. By choice, with other places open? No.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wolfried M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Shrimp Scampi Pizza yummy yum yum yum. One size for all pies and a tiny bit pricy but worth it. Sheila Salad really good but chicken portion was a little short on last order. Always go back about once for every 7 times we do pizza ... Just for the change of pace. Always take out as its a noisy kid fest at night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLC10756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love pizza works”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a huge group of 13+. We waited a bit but service was fast and efficient and the pizza and caprai salad were FABULOUS. All 13 were Very happy. How often does that happen? Can't wait to eat at PIZZA WORK again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailsail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good pizzas”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were traveling through the highway and looked for pizza places enroute. With our luck, we found this place and were glad we went there. The "red" pizzas they served were one of the best tasting pizza we have had in a while. The tomatoes they use must be fresh and the crust is also very good. The pizzas come in only one size "medium" so be careful about that while ordering. We will go there again if traveling through he area next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Works also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing