We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricy but worth it”
Review of Fresh Salt

Fresh Salt
Reserve with OpenTable
Fresh Salt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 154
Description: Named Best Waterfront Dining and Best Seafood by Connecticut Magazine in 2016, Fresh Salt serves seasonal and locally inspired meals. Our tables overlook the waters of the Connecticut River where the fresh river meets the salt of the Long Island Sound. It's a treasured and historic spot with a natural environment that is rich in life. Fresh Salt restaurant reflects that lively diversity: We have a raw bar, a seasonally varied menu, and offer as much as we can from the farms, brewers, cheese makers and other food enterprises that are springing up around our region. Fresh Salt delivers a dining experience that's comfortable and relaxed. Our staff is here to be of service to you, our kitchen stands ready with fresh ingredients, a deep wine cellar and carefully crafted fusions of foods and beverages that bring tastes together in delicious and new ways. We have tables by the fire, at the bar, and in season offer seating outdoors on the Fresh Salt Terrace. Awards include: - Best Brunch, Best Waterfront Dining, Best Seafood, and Best Hotel Dining from Connecticut Magazine, January 2016 - Named Upscale Restaurant of the Year by Connecticut Restaurant Association, December 2015
Reviewed September 14, 2012

good service, nice surroundings and excellent menu carried off without a hitch. Pricey but worth a special occuasion.

Thank madisonpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you and we are conscious of the perception that we are pricey. We are paying more attention to our costs and finding ways to keep prices down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 564 of 664 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I visit this restaurant every year when we go to our timeshare. We had Keith as the waiter. He was very efficient and friendly. I had the duck and my husband had the swordfish. Whether you eat at the bar or in the formal dining room, the food is always consistent. We were there last year after the hurricane because they had a generator. A very well run restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank judi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great food, great service by Darcy. The manager came over at our request and we complemented her on their attention to detail. We came for my wife's birthday, they brought out creme brulee for dessert with a candle and gave her a birthday card from the staff. A first class operation. We will be back, for sure.
My original rating was incorrect and is now revised here. We look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you, we are glad that you are pleased and then took the time to write a review for us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The food was truly exceptional. I had raw bar appetizers, a salad, and swordfish chop- all fresh and local, well prepared and presented . The service ( at our table )was a little slower than surrounding tables, but it was a Friday night.

Thank ruoloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that the delay you experienced was within your comfort zone. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Made reservations ahead of time and was seated immediately and on time for our table. The view is nice if you like to look at boats. It is a Marina. The service was very nice. Water and drinks were served immediately. The brunch selection was good, however the raw bar was low on selection. For the caliber of this restaurant it should have been brimming. Everything tasted fresh and not like it had been sitting there for awhile. Overall good for brunch but a little pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PatHeinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

I am glad you enjoyed brunch. Brunch seems a difficult meal period to grow. We are considering adopting a theme either Seafood Brunch or Tuscan Brunch?

Some people seem to love brunch and I guess it is too much for others. We wish we had more feedback and a clearer idea of which direction to head.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Salt also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing