We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”

Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food
Ranked #45 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
219 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Never again...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We live in the area and every couple of years we decide to give this restaurant one more try. We had read there were new owners so we were hopeful. Once again we were so disappointed. We decided to start with drinks only to see if in fact anything had changed. We sat at a high top table in the bar. The table was wobbly, the chair needed all the joints tightened and the table was dirty. There was no table service so the bartender had to yell over the other customers sitting at the bar to take our drink orders. Then of course we had to get our drinks, menus, tortilla chips and salsa ourselves as well. We would not have minded this at all if our beverages were outstanding, which they were not. I had a top shelf Margarita, it was terrible. My husband had a glass of red Sangria equally as bad. The tortilla chips were cold, stale and the salsa was watery and tasteless. We did look at the menu and the specials looked great. However, the menus were dirty and had caked dry salsa on them-gross. Needless to say, we did not stay for dinner. First impressions do make a difference and if they can not even make great drinks, clean the menus and take a moment to clean a table top we are done. We will not be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    31
    33
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Cuckoo's Nest is one of my favorite restaurants. The Staff is very attentive, the food is consistently amazing and the drink specials are delicious. Our favorite meals are the Mahi Mahi tacos, sizzling fajitas and the specials they have every week are a can't miss!! I highly recommend the Espolon Agave Margarita. It's delicious!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
“A Shoreline Favorite”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Cuckoo's Nest is a must if you're in or around the Old Saybrook area. I always have an order of guacamole to compliment the chips and salsa (the best I've had), and sip my margarita (try the elderflower marg). My experiences have always been positive, and the great food, and laid back atmosphere keep me coming back. Definitely give this place a try next time you're in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
“Must Try!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stopped in yesterday for lunch with a few friends. The bartender suggested we try some of the special "Street Tacos" they called them. So Good! You order them individually with a choice of chicken, shredded beef, pulled pork or chorizo sausage. We shared a plate of CT Nachos which probably are the best in CT. Topped off the meal with great raspberry Mojitos that the bartender had to go outside to pick mint for. The Cuckoo's Nest just earned some new regular customers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited here on a Monday night and had a great time! The sizzling fajitas were very good and the fish tacos were amazing. The fajitas have a mix of vegetables like carrots and zucchini along with the onions and peppers which made them very tasty. The fish tacos were grilled Mahi-Mahi with a delicious sauce, fresh avocado and tomato. The house margaritas were nicely flavored, not overly sweet like most places. Our waitress was very pleasant. She gave great service with a smile! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing