We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale cold chips and warm salsa.”

Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food
Ranked #43 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
NH
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stale cold chips and warm salsa.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I know this is supposed to be a tex-mex place but all of the country/farm decor brings that into question. I had the fajita salad. It was good but the taco shell was indelible bc it was literally dripping with grease. Grease everywhere. Drink was ok (overpriced margarita covered with salt even though I asked for no salt). The most concerning part of this place is the cold stale uncovered chips and room temp salsa bowls that are put on empty tables before guests are even sat. Ummm...sure that sounds clean and appetizing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetDee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    50
    33
    34
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fair food but great drinks”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I eat at Cuckoo's Nest every couple of years with friends and the food is consistently underwhelming. It's not bad exactly, it's just nothing special. Think sit-down Taco Bell - but with drinks. The rice and beans are bland fillers, and the main entrees are so-so and can be hit or miss. Last fall the empanadas at lunch were pretty good but last week at dinner they were overcooked and crunchy. (Two empanadas and a glass of wine came to $24.) I think the trick is to order a of couple beers or margaritas and go with fun friends so the food is not the main focus of the meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent Food and Good Service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Cuckoo's Nest does not serve "authentic" Mexican food, if you are from Mexico, but their enchiladas mole and chimichangas are quite good. The margaritas are very nice too, my wife's favorite being the mango margarita. They make them frozen if you wish, and the various flavors are delicious. We've been coming to Cuckoo's Nest for years, and while they don't measure up to fine dining restaurants in southern border states, this is Connecticut. Overall the experience is a pleasurable one, but ask for downstairs seating, as the upstairs service is a bit slow. If you listen carefully you can hear jazz being played on cd in the background. There's a live mariachi band on the 5th of each month if you enjoy live music with your food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love It”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoy the Cuckoo's Nest often. We love the specials they offer that change weekly. I also love tha fact that you can modify almost anything to your liking. The sangria is very good and the bartender will make you a great margarita.It's best to ask your server to suggest witch one would be right for you. Enjoy! We do everytime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
“Are You Kidding Me?”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited Cuckoo's Nest exactly ONCE with my wife, this summer after moving to the area. I don't know where all these positive reviewers ate, but it wasn't here. The food was not good, not authentic (I have lived in California and Texas, and visited Mexico a number of times), and not well prepared. Overall, our meal was a disappointment. If you just want to eat out, there are many other (better) choices in the area. If you have to have Mexican...sorry, but don't bother with Cuckoo's Nest...it's not the real thing anyway.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEIST715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing