We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected....”

Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food
Ranked #45 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as expected....”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the Econolodge next door, and didn't want to drive far for our meal, and as we could walk, went to the restaurant. We did read reviews of other travelers, but chose not to take any notice... a mistake. There was not atmosphere, it was cold too, When we asked the price for a couple of beers, the server had to ask the manager. We ordered enchilladas and burrito, which seemed different on the menu, but when they arrived, both plates looked and tasted the same.
Note to self, take note of reviews in future!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lordbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    31
    33
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crap Food, Service, and Experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner with my girlfriend and we ordered a beef burrito combo. Our server gave us the wrong food at first mistakenly bringing it to our table rather the the patrons sitting next to us. When we got our food it was cold yet the plate was to hot to touch. Our server a girl forgot her name but started with a S and chubby had a rude attitude. When we asked if she was new she said she was there for years. The sections for servers are to large for them to handle. The drinks are overpriced and I could probably have received a better experience at Chucky Cheeses. A must avoid restaurant unless your looking for an experience worse then Dennys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MealMePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch has Excellent Selection Including Desserts!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a nice surprise for a Sunday Brunch! A local friend recommended we try this when in town and there was Mexican food along with omlettes made to order, fajitas, tacos, etc. The desserts were very good as well.

The only negative was the pork bacon was under cooked and we had to dig around to find some done enough for our taste.

In CT, they can serve alcohol if you would like a beverage at 11:00 am which is different than the south where we live. Having Mexican food just doesn't seem right without a Margarita (but with eggs?)..

Again, about desserts - I am not a huge dessert fan but I could not decide what to try because there were so many things that I thought looked good. I decided to just try a very small piece of key lime pie and a chocolate chip cookie. Both were very good.

My favorite part was the chicken fajitas. I will return if we get back that way!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loribledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great food, decent prices. The atmosphere is festive. I especially enjoyed the enchiladas mole. Margaritas are average

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was very nice Mexican food and it was in great location to where we were staying. We dislike the the smell.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing