We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great simple food”

Saybrook Soup and Sandwich Co.
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Niantic
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great simple food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The sandwiches / wraps are very creative and the flavors work well together. Their salads are just as though out. The place appears at first glance to have some bright, commercially exploited décor, but the food is unique. Rotisserie meats, cherry wood smoked turkey, pulled pork.....something for everyone. Salads have nuts, flavorful dressings, fruit, nice cheeses and fresh greens. They have a kids menu, soups, entrees is a great place to grab lunch for a picnic or to sit and go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryandz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great soup and sanwich”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everytime that I come to Old Saybrook I stop here their food is soooooooooooo good you will love this place they also have dinners my niece loves the wraps and fruit cups and a very good selection of desserts yummmmmmmmmmmmmmy.can't say enough about this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious :)”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I love having lunch here. It is always tasty. Favorite is the butternut squash soup. My favorite sandwich is chicken cutlet on rye w/lettuce, tomato & cheddar cheese with their white balsamic dressing. Dave is the nicest guy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntib225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quick Stop, Good Food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Soup, salad and sandwiches are a good bet for a quick lunch.Butternut squash soup was hot, creamy and a bit spicy. Good size salad of arugala, strawberries, glazed pecans, shared by two of us, next time we will try one of the tempting sandwiches or maybe take out dinner menu which is heartier, meatloaf, mac and cheese and more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place for a sandwich”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

When I am traveling through Old Saybrook, I stop at Saybrook Soup and Sandwich. Food is really good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank adeccomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saybrook Soup and Sandwich Co. also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Saybrook Soup and Sandwich Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing