We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc - CLOSED

Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kate's fine confections specializes in handmade fine chocolates, candy, baklava and pasties, tea, coffee, artisan hot chocolates, and imported and old fashion candy. On scheduled eveingins by reservation only we host prefixed Moroccan dinner nights known as "Dining at Tissa's". We also offer prepared Moroccan Meals to go to take home and enjoy.
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've lived in the area for about 15 years, and only about 1 year ago did we notice this restaurant. But we thought it was an ice cream shoppe. We didn't know it was a Moroccan lunch deli until we did a search for restaurants on Trip Advisor. For sure, we didn't see a sign on the outside that said "Tissa's Market and Cafe", so it's one of those places that I guess you have to know about from insider information. In my opinion, that adds to the charm.

The food was delicious. We had a chicken stew they were just finishing making as we walked in - it smelled so good! It was delicious! We also had chicken wraps for lunch. But they're not just chicken wraps - they're delicious creations with some unique and delicious ingredients.

All I can say is that it's worth the visit. Such a friendly place, with great food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cable_consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small place with HUGE flavor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely dinner a few nights ago. The restaurant is small (make reservations if your party is greater than 2). The aromas struck us as we entered, and the coziness made us feel right at home. Service was prompt and genuinely friendly. The food was outstanding, very authentic, flavorful, and plentiful. We took home leftovers and enjoyed them the next day. For sale in the shop are some of the spices, herbs, and cooking implements used in Moroccan-style cooking, so you can (try to) reproduce your dinner at home...But try as you might, you probably won't reach the pinnacle of flavor we tasted at Tissa's. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Usually you have to visit a large city to sample ethnic food but my friends and I have been coming bakc to this unique restaurant for the past year to celebrate our birthdays and it never fails to be a fun experience. The wraps and sandwiches are sooo delicious it is hard to pick one from the varied menu, I always go with the grilled chicken with apricot sauce and spinach, wrapped tightly in a perfectly seasoned wrap.
Of course the Morrocan Delight ice cream is a must to finish our lunch.
The owner, Kathy, always comes out to greet us and chat.
The next time I will go for dinner and try something cooked in a tangine, never had that before but know it will be good,
This little place is a treasure in such a small town, how lucky are we!
I would highly recommend this place for those who want to get off the beaten path for a delicious lunch or dinner.You won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great food and really great owner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on way home to Boston from new haven, looking for lunch. Very pleasantly surprised by wrap we bought and the soup . Well worthwhile stop! Morrocan food - great flavor! Really really good!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bradybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old saybrook, ct
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“they care and it shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

very cool little spot. excellent ice cream and owners who really go the extra mile and always with a smile. very nice people

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigplateplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing