We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great food and really great owner!”
Review of Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc - CLOSED

Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kate's fine confections specializes in handmade fine chocolates, candy, baklava and pasties, tea, coffee, artisan hot chocolates, and imported and old fashion candy. On scheduled eveingins by reservation only we host prefixed Moroccan dinner nights known as "Dining at Tissa's". We also offer prepared Moroccan Meals to go to take home and enjoy.
New England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great food and really great owner!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on way home to Boston from new haven, looking for lunch. Very pleasantly surprised by wrap we bought and the soup . Well worthwhile stop! Morrocan food - great flavor! Really really good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
old saybrook, ct
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“they care and it shows”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

very cool little spot. excellent ice cream and owners who really go the extra mile and always with a smile. very nice people

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigplateplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Secret is Out...”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Living in town, we have visited Tissa's numerous times. We are NEVER disappointed. The food, the ice cream, the atmosphere, Kathy, her family and staff are wonderful! Living on the shoreline is a real treat...having Tissa's in town is the "cherry on a delicious sundae".

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTBeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Freshest wrap I have ever had!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Tissa's is a small local deli and shop with character and charm, inside what was once an old drugstore, back in the "olden days". Tissa is warm and friendly, and makes a lovely tasty veggie wrap sandwich (along with many other selections) which I enjoyed eating while looking at the Morrocan items which decorate one half of the shop. I would suggest that anyone in the area, try her food..It is very fresh and tasty, and she is ever-so-gracious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It is a small cozy moraccan restraunt that is taste bud-pleasing! They have great prices as well as yummy food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing