We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel,great price...”
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews I had read onTrip Advisor. There were 3 of us needing 2 rooms for the Ancient Mariners Muster. The hotel is right off of I-95...so there is traffic noise,nothing too bad though. The building is a little older, although the room I was in had been renovated not too long ago. We were there Fri., Sat. & Sun. night and paid only $318 incl. tax. Now that's a bargain. I've paid $50,$60, even $100 more a night for a room and had it be about the same quality. The fellow who runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful. So, the bottom line is this...It's not the Waldorf-Astoria. But it is a clean,comfortable hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissUla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Liberty Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, it is an old motel. Probably built 50 years ago when the Connecticut Turnpike (aka I95) was first built. But the room I had was clean and had been updated. New toilet and carpeting. Recent paint job. It is a small business and the man that checked me in at 10:40 pm was still working at 9:30 am when I left. Yes, it is old and tired, but you can't beat the $79 price for a night in August on the Connecticut coast.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was dirty and the road noise was terrible. It felt like that room probably hadn't been used in a long time. Everything was covered in dust. Road noise doesn't usually bother me but it's really bad at this place. Sounds like the trucks are coming through your room. Also, the ice machine is located in the office so it's not accessible at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I booked a room through the LI website. We asked for a handicapped room and got one. The room had been renovated and was reasonably clean. The maid did miss the shower curtain, however. It was pretty grungy on the inside near the bottom when unfolded.
We liked the comfortable beds, the table and chairs, and the TV. The manager and desk help were very friendly. They had Dunkin Donuts for breakfast, but unfortunately, they were stale.
All in all, it was a good motel for the money and we would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boggie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Older small motel,very clean,good price,manager was outstanding. Ithought I'd have a heart attack when I arrived home in Maine and discovered I had left my little book of all my user names AND passwords. I called the motel and the manager immediately went to our room and serched while
keeping me on his portable phone. He found it and sent it THAT NIGHT as he said he would. Also,
I really liked having a nice refrig. and microwave. I'll go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is a typical little motel. It has some issues like the room smelled a little musty. If you're looking for a palace, this is not it but if you're looking for a room within minutes drive of the beach in Old Saybrook for under a hundred bucks, this is it. Nothing special but not the worst place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent 3 and half weeks at the Liberty Inn while working in Old Lyme. The rooms are clean, get free WiFi, and every room has a microwave and mini fridge. It is next to I-95, so the road noise is unnoticeable. The manager is very pleasant, and kind, and runs a good inn. If you are on a budget, this good for the price. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you need WiFi, get the rooms on the left, or upstairs (the water fountain side). Better reception...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aamin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.8 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
8.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Address: 55 Springbrook Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: $77 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Liberty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liberty Inn Old Saybrook is minutes from Tanger Factory Outlet, Clinton Crossing Premium Outlet, Gillettes Castle State Park, local beaches, Essex Steam Train/Riverboat, Waters Edge, Connecticut River, Mohegan Sun, and Foxwoods Casino. The hotel offers amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, electronic locks and access via exterior corridors, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Old Saybrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing