We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, Clean, customer oriented, great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liberty Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, customer oriented, great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would like to comment on the Liberty Inn,, During the Hurricane situation on October 2012, after staying at the Comfort Inn with less than pleasing results, you can also see my comments and situation which myself and 6 other had experienced during a difficult time of need and shelter on their review page, the State of Connecticut has also been notified as they have also broken the law of price gouging during a crisis situation. My posting for the Comfort will be up shortly with the most obscure details on the link below.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g33878-d85825-Reviews-Comfort_Inn-Old_Saybrook_Connecticut.html
The Liberty inn was great, it is a perfect basic hotel with all the amenities you need, Sparkling clean room and very comfortable beds. And mostly I wanted to comment on the Management, I have never been treated so well anywhere I have stayed. I travel for business in total about 4 months a year all over the country. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and 1 star, I have never found anyone who was totally concerned about my stay and if everything met my approval. Very courteous and customer oriented. They don’t have a restaurant however; there are more than enough within a 3 mile drive. Other than that they where fantastic, and not to mention they did not price gouge during the Hurricane. There pricing is consistent honest as it should be.
So if you want to enjoy the Connecticut shoreline, and need a nice place to sleep, this is the place, besides, if your visiting Old Saybrook area, you’re not spending a day inside anyway, Happy travels

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriscraft36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibertyInnOS, Manager at Liberty Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest review.

manager
liberty inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
15
27
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Older and very established old school motel. Don't be looking for upscale amenities here. The beauty of this little place is its easy access (right -on- I-95) and relative affordability. The area's hotels are very expensive, even the budget jobbies like this one. Affable and friendly manager has maintained this now dated place well. The pond fountain adds some welcome white noise versus the I-95 at your front door. Continental breakfast...uhm, good for a coffee and donut, and I enjoyed both. Good spot for a quick shower and rest on your journey. Would choose another place as tourista operations central though. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: No pool, workout, wireless, or anything. It's a room and shower on the road, no more. Perfect if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnamukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I booked this motel online for two nights and it was the biggest mistake ever. Upon checking in, I realized that we were the only guests. As soon as we entered the room I realized that we could not stay there. It was old, dated, had a huge mirror opposite the bed but the worst was the smell; it reeked of must. I returned to the office and the owner offered me any other room that he had but there was no way we were staying. He was upset but agreed to void the charge on my credit card. This was my error when I was booking. Be wary of the photos that are shown online. "What you see is not always what you really get"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janyFairLawnNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
553 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Despite some negative reviews that made me worry about where I had booked, I found the Liberty Inn to be clean and well maintained. This is a motel that offers no services. But, the staff was helpful, the room was large, the air conditioner worked well, bedding was clean, and the room was quiet. Not sure why the negative reviews, but as others indicated $88 is a bargain rate and I'd return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

enjoyed our stay here, good value for what was in the room. Safe town, clean property, a little older but looks like updates are taking place, there was a guy painting outside when we checked in. Nice landscaping. We would come back if we were passing through.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard3489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

not a scary neighborhood, perfectly nice manager, a little dusty and out-dated but not bad for the price...nice landscaping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one night for a wedding this weekend with my husband. Room had a horrible odor, and it was dirty. No hot water in shower, and noisy due to fact it is on the highway. Do not waste you money here. Maybe be temporary housing for the homeless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.8 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
13.0 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Property: Liberty Inn
Address: 55 Springbrook Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Liberty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liberty Inn Old Saybrook is minutes from Tanger Factory Outlet, Clinton Crossing Premium Outlet, Gillettes Castle State Park, local beaches, Essex Steam Train/Riverboat, Waters Edge, Connecticut River, Mohegan Sun, and Foxwoods Casino. The hotel offers amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, electronic locks and access via exterior corridors, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Old Saybrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing