We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff”
Review of The Back Porch

The Back Porch
Ranked #44 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Let us introduce ourselves! We are The Back Porch Restaurant on the Connecticut River in Old Saybrook. We serve lunch and dinner daily, featuring great food, a full bar, game room, and expansive patio with an incredible water views. At night we light our fire pits and on the weekends, feature live music. So whether you are in the mood for a meal or want to kick back with a drink and enjoy the cool breeze and sunset views, The Back Porch is the place for you!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

OK overall. Had issue with N E clam chowder. Was delivered with clumps of corn starch and temp of chowder was only warm

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine89134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    53
    55
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend, Blah”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This places location is fantastic, after some friends raved about this so place my wife and I decided to check it out, the deck and decent entertainment draw in social drinkers and unwary tourist. First the hostesses seemed to be too preoccupied with their phones to greet guest, after being seated it seemed a long time before our waitress took our drink orders. The food we order was almost delivered to the wrong table, I had to call out to the server. My wife talked me into getting a bowl of clam chowder because she knows how much I enjoy it, the chowder was milky water with potato's and a few bits of what resembled clams. our fish and chips and fried shrimp were not fresh, but frozen, generic and bland. If the Back Porch would clean the place up, improve the food, lower prices and get some decent help, they would not have to read dissatisfied customer reviews.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank orion1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It's a really cool experience....”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Ok well here it is....this is a great place to eat, listen to live music, and all the while have great views of the Connecticut River and the marina it's located at. We first ate there just before Memorial Day and it wasn't yet crowded and was a really great experience. The band was playing and food and drinks were excellent. They have indoor and outdoor dining so if you don't want loud music eat inside. It really is a fun, lively place. It can be a bit much on a Friday and Saturday night as it's super crowded. It's really fun if your into the live music, crowd thing. If not go on any other night as it's much less crowded. We've been three times now and each time we have a lot of fun. The place has a good vibe and the crowd is mostly 30 year olds plus. The drinks were really good as they have a bunch of their own specialty ones and the food was really good. It's a bit pricey but what do you expect as your on the river, in a tourist town. It's the experience your paying for. We love the place and go often. One more thing, when it's really crowded the service is off, again as to be expected with this many people there. They have plenty of staff. If you want a quiet, cozy place to eat with great food, check down in town as their are a bunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad staff, okay food, management nowhere to be found. Great patio.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Basically the atmosphere and outside patio saves it from being a complete waste of space. Two or three years ago this place was great. Now... It sucks. The waitress's are awful... Disappear for long periods of time. Forget what you wanted... Disappear again...you get the point. People behind the bar are well, below average.. And are so painfully slow I might as well hop the bar and make my own drink. One bartender in particular one night was so freakin rude I wanted to backhand her... Wrote a email to management all I got back was "thanks for your info" so much for caring about your customers. The manager during the day is ready to party while at work. Get real dude... Take care of your business. The food is blahhhhhhh and overpriced. Go elsewhere. Fun place to listen to bands and be down by the water but eat first and possibly pack a cooler in your car so at least you can have a drink at some point.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Martinis, Good Food, Good Service, Good River View, "High" Prices...”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We returned to Back Porch after being away from Connecticut for five or so months. We enjoyed the restaurant previously and we enjoyed it again. This visit we both had martinis (nicely made), split the house salad (quite ample), had filet mignons (cooked exactly to our order) and we split a hot fudge brownie ice cream (quite tasty) with coffee. Our server was very attentive and helpful -- she ensured that my wife received a five-olive dirty martini made to perfection! As before we enjoyed the river and marina activity. The menu prices seem high to me, but that's true of most restaurants...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBBannister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Porch also viewed

 

Been to The Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing