We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific spot for a small event!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Crab Steakhouse

The Blue Crab Steakhouse
Ranked #56 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific spot for a small event!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

They do wonderful hot and cold appetizers and "finger food" for a shower, office party or gathering of a small group (50 + under?). I'm sure they do a fabulous dinner fare for occassions as well, but we just had the appetizers this time. Marinated tuna and chicken on skewers, smoked salmon, crab cakes (to die for), shrimp, fruit, devilled eggs and tomato, mozzarella and basile salad....all displayed beautifully on a center table. Wait staff and owners are warm and friendly....they make you feel like part of the family. We have also eaten lunch here, which was served quickly, without making you feel rushed and the seafood and salads were great. We have to try their breakfast and dinner next! It's a casual, cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Unexpected Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Traveling through the area, we were looking for a place to eat that served seafood that wasn't a chain. All meals were excellent at a reasonable price, though they only had breaded/fried seafood. Being gluten intolerant, the chef altered the evening special steak to remove breadcrumbs. I was told next time I come through, they would cover my steak with shrimp scampi. A plus was the fact that the restaurant had a live band on this Sunday evening. Excellent wait staff, homey atmosphere!. We will definitely recommend the Blue Crab and stop by again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Bad for the Hungry Traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

After 6 hours on the road for a wedding the next day, we stopped into the Blue Crab for a late dinner. We arrived around 8:30pm and were seated immediately. For the number of patrons in the restaurant, the drinks took a little longer than expected. Our service was zippy otherwise. I had the Gabbiano Chianti Classico which wasn’t bad, but tasted like it had been open for a while. It was served in the small standard wine glass I would expect to get in a dive bar—my pet peeve. They may be ok for box wine, but not for a fairly good bottled wine. For dinner, my wife ordered the Shrimp Scampi and I ordered the Lobster Ravioli. She ordered a cup of French Onion soup, and we each got side salads.

A loaf of bread accompanied by rosemary oil dippy stuff was served as we heard the specials being listed to the table next to us. It was a shame we hadn’t been given the same as they sounded pretty good. The bread had been toasty fresh at some point in the evening, but not by the time it arrived lukewarm. The rosemary dippy stuff was surprisingly bland. It was improved with salt & pepper, but we wound up using the soup and ranch dressing. Jessie's soup arrived quickly--it was 'lawsuit hot', but delicious! The broth was just right--not too dark, croutons crispy and melted Swiss cheese generous. The salads were quite appealing and didn’t disappoint. Jess got the house dressing which was equally as bland as the bread dip.

Our entrees were delicious. The Shrimp Scampi had plenty of fresh garlic and the lemon butter wine sauce was perfectly balanced by the tasty fresh tomatoes. The tarragon cream sauce paired well with the Lobster Ravioli. We were both stuffed by the end of our moderately-priced meals. Overall, the food and experience rated a strong “B”.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RehoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the food is o.k”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had lunch there in October 2012. It was o.k nothing special.
I had a hamburger and salad. The staff is not very friendly and
seems preoccupied talking about their social time. Won't go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lazy service, wait forever, disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We probably should have known better since the dining room was empty on a Friday night and everywhere else was packed. The hostess didn't bother getting up, told us to find a seat. Our server was uninterested. The crab cakes were good but then waited close to an hour for our meal. The vegetables were so saturated in butter we couldn't eat them. My steak was au poive but you couldn't taste pepper. My boyfriends steak was so greasy it soaked the plate and wasn't edible. Then the waiter ignored us most of the night and took about 10 min to bring change when we were the only people in the dining room. Terrible experience and won't go back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazzard56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Crab Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Crab Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing