We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldie but Goody”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Oldie but Goody”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice motel in Old Saybrook, great location, easy on off 95, owners are very friendly and will do their best to accommodate you. It's an older building with wooden decks so people traffic can be noisy at times but it didn't bother me. The rooms are clean and they have dish tv, the pool was open and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Bill, thank you for choosing our Hotel during your last stay in Old saybrook. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our great customer service. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and the service provided by our staff. Regarding the street near the Hotel, we are sorry if it disturbed your rest. Unfortunately we cannot entirely avoid the traffic in town Hotels. Please accept our apology for that.Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards your Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    67
    58
    28
    29
See reviews for
85
69
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were quite pleased with our room at this Hotel. The room was very clean, had super comfortable sheets, a walk in closet, new carpet and lots of TV stations to choose from. There was a lovely pool and the grounds of the hotel were also very well landscaped and maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Terri,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We have been so focused on creating the ultimate meeting and guest experience that your kind words will mean so much to my team mates and clarify that their hard work, creativity and passion is being recognized.
Bob(and all of our staff), believe in providing that personalized service, and provide best quality service to the guest and make always happiness on their faces.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back and the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again.
Travel safe and have an excellent summer!
Best Regards!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room is a little cramped - the walk-in closet door won't open all the because of one of the beds. The room was clean and neat and everything worked. Lots of channels on the TV but surprisingly, no ESPN. The motel is near an expressway, but it's quiet considering it's location. Pool looked in great shape and cared for. Deck was clean and it had a table with an umbrella. The breakfast is a little meager - toast, cereal one kind of danish and toaster waffles. The area was very clean and neat. A/C in the room was fine, bathroom clean and neat. Towels were fine but there was only two bath towels. They supplied more towels quickly when we asked. The rate is higher than we usually pay, but it is a tourist area. The Manager & his wife were extremely nice and helpful, always smiling. We have stayed there many times and will again.

Room Tip: Book in advance, they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpicasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Cpicasner, Wow! Thank you for your accolade and I sincerely appreciate you noticing all unique features of the hotel, especially our friendly staff always striving to achieve 100% guest satisfaction. We hope to have you back again! Sincerely, Bob Parikh, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, CT
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My grilfriend and I had to find a room last minute and pulled into the little Jem. Umesh and (I believe his wife) were warm and more than welcoming, making us feel at home. The room was clean and smelled brand new. The pool was nice to have our breakfast beside. Thank you thank you thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustinJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear John,
We are glad you had been able to stay with us and took the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for mentioning our friendly, helpful staff, we try to provide a "Super" welcome to each and every guest, making them feel at home. With the many new upgrades to the hotel, we are proud to offer guests an environment where they can rest comfortably. Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Before booking a hotel, I read way too many reviews and I end up not knowing what to believe. My main goal when traveling is to stay in a clean, friendly place. I have always been nervous over hearing about "bed bugs" and I also hate paying over $100 for a place to simply sleep and shower. I have much better things that I can think of to do with that money. Unfortunately, the price of hotels and motels is ridiculous these days. I chose This Old Saybrook motel based on price. It was a little father than I wanted to be from Mystic, CT but it seemed like the best bang for the buck. Several reviews on the site were not very good but I'm going to chalk that up to someone not getting there way about something and trying to retaliate. Not many people review when they have a good experience but everyone always reviews when they have a bad one. My husband, my son and I stayed there for one night. The room was perfectly clean, it didn't "smell" and there were no "bed bugs". The continental breakfast was your typically one and was okay if you like carbs and no meat for breakfast. "Continental" breakfast is clearly stated, so for those that complained about the breakfast, you must first learn what "continental" means. I rate this hotel a 3 because it was average. It wasn't the Hilton or the Ritz but I didn't pay for the Hilton or Ritz. The only thing I found that wasn't true to description was the pool. The photo gallery showed a beautiful crystal clear modern beautiful pool. It actually was a very old concrete and tile pool that was falling apart in spots and the water was off balance and cloudy. Otherwise, that was fine just to cool off in. If you are looking for a hotel/motel to spend most of your vacation hours in, this is definitely not it. But if you are looking to hang your hat for the evening, it's an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: If you pick a second level room you won't hear the walking around from the other guests above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a thorough review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with our hotel and truly appreciate that you provided an honest and warm opinion. Our aim is to provide all of our guests a unique stay and excellent customer service. We are glad that we met your expectations as we strive to achieve this with everyone that we interact with.

We are really apologize that pool was unusable for you because of green water. We are always take care of our pool every single week and Pool Guy they come every single week to clean the pool and add clorine in water. But next time, We promise you that you will get more fun in pool with clean and nice water.

We have received the feedback from our guests regarding the internet and are working with our internet company to provide a more stable network. Your feedback has been invaluable and will assist us in providing you and our future guests a better experience in the future.

. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Super 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
9.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Property: Super 8 Old Saybrook
Address: 37 Spencer Plain Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super Eight
Old Saybrook Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing