We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Old Saybrook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This family run motel is well located just off exit 66 of I95 and about 3 miles from Old Saybrook with it's many restaurants, shops and activities. The room we had was very clean, coffee maker, mini fridge, iron and ironing board and a fairly large bathroom with name brand amenities. The Dish TV system is elaborate but difficult to decipher by remote with mini-buttons. The 'Super Start' breakfast, starting at 6AM, is adequate with bagels, english muffins, corn flakes, milk, coffee and tea served in a small area near the front desk. The pool was clean and has ample chairs for seating. Plenty of parking and free WiFi make this an excellent value for your money.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms look at the pool area and not at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    56
    28
    28
See reviews for
85
68
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

ive travelled a good amount ... but always have used hotels and resorts, never a MOTEL. i was only going to be in area for one night and honestly there wasnt ANY "hotels" in the area. just bed & breadfasts and motels. after reading all the reviews of the other motels Super 8 was the only one left (and their reviews were good). i have to say i was pleasantly surprised. the rooms were modern and very clean. room had a frig and coffee maker. the staff was very friendly and put their guests comfort first. the only issue (which wasnt even that bad ... ive definitely had worse) was the bed was a little hard for my liking. but next time i need to use a motel, Super 8 will definitely be my choice.

Room Tip: we stayed on 2nd floor facing the parkinglot, pool, and road .... it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

First impression its attractive because of good looking exterior. No complains about amenities, they were just OK for the price you pay for Super 8 league motels (1.5 stars). mini fridge, AC and TV in the room. But the only problem this motel is its poor management, specially front desk person. Weather they are not trained properly or they are just rude. We were assigned smoking room instead of non smoking room. We requested to change the room and the front desk person took 45 minutes to change the room. He was talking on the phone and busy doing other work. Any good business establishment with such a rude approach towards their customers do not sustain in a long term.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Super 8 Old Saybrook is a Super hotel for the price. They have free breakfast and free internet. Pleasant Staff and close to AMTRAK Station, felt very safe. Breakfast room is small but clean and well equipped. Super 8 Old Saybrook is new hotel and hope it remains clean, safe and updated. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room other side of the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this particular motel because it was close to where my family lives.

We had a king sized bed in our room. The bed wasn't completely uncomfortable (seemed a little hard) and the pillows were a bit too poofy, but that's just our opinion. Others might find it to their liking.

The room was mostly clean (bathroom, bed, table & chairs) but in some spots it was a bit dusty (just behind the tv) and I saw a couple of cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, so that made me think that the room hadn't been used for some time, or the cleaning crew might have missed those areas when dusting.

The heater warmed up pretty quick but the only thing we didn't like was that it wasn't temperature controlled. During the night we had to get up to shut it off because it was too hot, and then had to get up and turn it on when it got too cold.

The walls are pretty thin, and we could hear other patrons showering or flushing the toilet. (Luckily there weren't any other sounds coming from the other rooms :) )

The breakfast they provided was good for us since we were meeting up with our family later on in the day, it was light. Bagels, english muffins, muffins, cereal, etc...
I liked that the coffee was always fresh. It was nice to see that at 930 when breakfast was going to end, there was no one rushing over to take everything away.

The gentleman at the front desk was personable as we checked in and when we checked out.

Overall it was a good experience, a good value and we would definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ital23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Owner at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest. We are pleased to hear you chose Super 8 hotel at Old Saybrook for your stay in Old Saybrook, CT. We hope you had good family reunion and found our location by your family house to be convenient. I also hope that you found our other amenities relaxing after busy day with family!

We are happy to hear that your overall stay was comfortable and you liked the breakfast. We are however sorry to hear your stay at hotel had few miss. We have recently renovated and we will continue to work on and we appreciate your feedback so we can continue to improve. Please don’t hesitate to let us know about anything that may be less than perfect. It’s our pleasure to accommodate you the best we can.

We are happy to see that you found value in your stay with us, enjoyed delicious breakfast and comfortable accommodations we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlandpark nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

reasonable priced,remodeled rooms with fridg.continental breakfast,right off 95,has pool but I was there off season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gambler720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Owner at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear guest! We thank you for taking the time to write a review after visiting Super 8 hotel in Old Saybrook, Connecticut. We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable with us and you liked value and interior of our newly renovated rooms and amenities.

This is newly renovated hotel and we always keep our rates reasonable keeping in mind the budget travelers regardless the season. Even planning your trip in season you can always call our hotel desk before packing your bags to get maximum benefits of ongoing hotel deals and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This place has got beautiful pool, Clean rooms, comfortable beds, yummy breakfast, best location, friendly staff and offcorse affordable rates. I would call it budget heaven. Will surely recommend this super 8.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 30rockil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshOldSaybrook, Owner at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest, You have made our day! This review will boost morale of our front desk staff and cleaning staff responsible for guest services and cleaning of this hotel and especially hotel management who worked tirelessly in complete renovation of this hotel recently.

Thanks so much for your review and please let us know how we can make your next visit even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.3 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Property: Super 8 Old Saybrook
Address: 37 Spencer Plain Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super Eight
Old Saybrook Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing