We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Agawam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

From making the reservations, to the time of check~out, everything went completely smooth. The manager at the front desk was very helpful.. from my initial phone call on.
I would absolutely HIGHLY recommend the Econo Lodge in Old Saybrook ... Even the outside of it is nice. It has a waterfall, and the grounds are well maintained.
You cant go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeezyAgawam_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    8
    10
    24
See reviews for
35
26
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, FL
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We have stayed here before, during and after the renovations and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The beds are pillow top and so very very comfortable. The rooms have been completely renovated inside-new furnishings, bedding, lighting and even a large flat screen tv. There are several restaurants within walking distance and every kind of food within 5 miles of the Inn. We stayed with one of their competitors and found the staff snobby. Here you always feel welcome. This is our home away from home and we will stay here many more times.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeterApopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Very clean, friendly helpful staff, charming ambience , and I would recommend to anyone. ! Will stay there again on next trip to Connecticut.
The bed was very comfortable, the room basic, but neat and all necessary ammenities. Great price for a quality hotel!

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing I did not like
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morethanimagined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Completely agree with the last two reviewer's comments. What a great place to stay. Attractive, clean, comfortable rooms with plasma tvs, nice linens and microwave and fridge. The management was friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was fun and the waffles were good. Enjoyed a swim in the pool as well. Think it would be great if the owners could continue the excellent renovation process and upgrade and maybe add additional seating to the large deck next to the pool. It was a nice place to to relax and read a book after dinner. Great and convenient location off of I-95 and close to many restaurants and shopping.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

I can't believe the changes they made here. I stayed a few years ago and it really needed renovations. What a great job they did. It looks like a brand new place! Hotel needs to update the pics on this website.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hemanPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD USA
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2008

While driving around Route 1 in CT, my mother and I were looking for a nice place to stay for one night. After seeing many hotels along the way that were either fully booked or dirty, we stumbled upon the Sandpiper Inn. Finally, a place with availability! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was gorgeously appointed with comfortable beds, squishy pillows, a flat screen T.V., a microwave, and a mini fridge. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Everything looked new.
Breakfast the next morning was complimentary and included a make-your-own waffle area. Muffins and bagels were also available. It was delicious.
The owners helped us in person, and they were very accommodating. The lobby has a small lounge area with free access to a very nice iMac G5 computer that even has Photoshop 7.0! Our only complaint was that we could only stay for one night!


We highly, highly recommend that you stay in this hotel if you are in the area. Enjoy!!

-Erin and Karla Bounds, Baltimore, MD

  • Liked — The fluffy pillows, breakfast, and friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — We liked everything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iveriniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed here over the past summer for an event in the midst of the remodeling....Right when we arrived and entered the lobby we were hit with a horrible horrible smells. While the room was semi ok just fine to sleep in(after you sort of get used to the smell), it was not worth the overpriced rates we had to spend. The hotel area is not near any areas with food and without a form of transportation since we came by train, you are virtually stuck, with only one cab driver to take you anywhere. The hotel staff were very rude and have video cameras that watch every move you make even resulting in phone calls to our room.
And you would think the hotel would be accomodating for their guests, we had a 5am train ride out and the taxi service didn't provide rides at that time. We asked two people at the managers desk who looked like they were on something, if they were able to see if they could take us to the station but they just made a rude comment and we ended up walking with our suitcases in the dark at 3am for three miles to the station just to finally leave that darn place. I hope to never ever see that place again.
So my advice is to avoid at all cost!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bqk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdadarwala, Owner at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook, responded to this review, January 19, 2008
As this guest knew when they made the reservation, we did start our renovation project. The guest was ok with that since they had a function to attend locally. They did mention that were coming via train and needed transportation to and from the station. I gave them the number to the local taxi company and told them that they (the taxi company) are very limited in availability unless prior arrangements are made in advance. Especially, during the early hours of the morning. The guest also mentioned about the movie cameras, we have those for the safety of our guests, not to hastle them.
The guest also mentioned that the Sandpiper Is not "near any areas with food". I beg to differ. There is a great Mexican restaurant literally next door, 2 fine Italian/Seafood Restaurants across the street and many others within 1/2 mile.

All I can say to this comment is that, we strive to be accomodating to all of our guests and offer quality accomodations at an affordable prices.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
3.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
9.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Address: 1750 Boston Post Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1642 (Formerly Sandpiper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, an Old Saybrook hotel near Essex Village. Just outside of Essex Village, the The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides easy access to several area attractions. Local points of interest like the Mohegan Sun casino, Gregory James Gallery, General William Hart House historical landmark and Harvey's Beach are minutes from this Old Saybrook, CT hotel.Nearby Mystic Seaport-The Museum of America and the Sea offers so much to see and do. Visitors will enjoy strolling through the 19th century seafaring village where you can see history come alive in the countless maritime galleries, displays, museums and more.A variety of entertainment venues and retailers can be found in the surrounding area. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are close by; some are within walking distance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing