We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of The Old Mystic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Mystic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2007

My fiancée and I stayed for two nights at this B&B. We stayed in the "Louis M Alcott" room which was nice and clean with a canopy bed. However, the room smelled like mold and I think it came from the bathroom which is very outdated and smelly, not to mention very small (for a $200 dollar a night, I would have expected more). Also, there's a window way at the top of the room with no curtains, so the light came through since 6 a.m.!! Not exactly relaxing.

The breakfast was delicious. It has been the best breakfast we've had at a B&B.

Maybe other rooms are a little better.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
111
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

If you're looking for accomodation with some genuine old fashioned charm, this could be the place for you. Our room, the "Henry Thereou", was in the old inn itself and boasted creaky doors, open fire, bare floorboards and candle style lamps.

Sadly no TV or tea/coffee making in the room, but cookies, TV and a drinks station were provided in the lounge.

If you prefer more mod cons I suspect the coach house behind the inn may be slightly more modern. It should also be shielded from some of the traffic noise from the lane which runs directly in front of the inn itself.

On the whole, a pleasant stay, made more so by the accommodating and helpful host, Michael, and a good breakfast.

  • Liked — Quaint.
  • Disliked — Perhaps too old world in places....
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bother with the Old Mistick Village outlets, mostly just tacky gift shops!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sussexgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

With a little fear and trepidation we booked a reservation at the Old Mystic Inn. We hadn't stayed in a bed and breakfast before and we weren't exactly sure if we would like the experience. From the first moment that our host, the owner of the inn, Michael, greeted us at the door, our experience was wonderful. Michael gamely helped us carry our suitcases to the second floor room that we were to occupy. Each of the rooms is named after a well known author and decorated to match either the author's style, or the period in which he lived. We stayed in the Emily Dickenson room. Our room was enchantingly decorated with pictures, furniture and bric-a-brac of the late 1800's. The fireplace was supplied with a simple burnable log that started quickly with a match. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The room and bathroom were cleaned and refreshed early each day. To our delight, Michael provided us with a gourmet breakfast each morning. The food was well and creatively prepared and beautifully presented. All I can say is, the Old Mystic Inn is a wonderful choice for anyone who would like to tour Mystic Ct. or even just have a pleasant get-away weekend.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KfromJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2006

I went to the Old Mystic Inn frazzeled by everyday stresses and strains. Upon entering the Main House, I instantly felt a sense of calm which increased as I was taken to my room, the Herman Melville. I woke the next morning to the sound of Canada Geese flying overhead, and to the incredibly delicious aroma of Chef Michael's gourmet country breakfast. I've been back over and over again, and the consistency of service, ammenities, and special attention to detail are second to none. I even decided to hold my birthday party there with friends and family - it was fabulous. Go. Stay. You'll love it!

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Call Way in Advance - This Inn books up quickly!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Pugsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paramus, nj
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2006

We visited the Old Mystic Inn, in Old Mystic CT. from Sept. 15, 2006 to Sept. 17, 2006. The trip was given to us as a gift from our son. They picked it sight unseen, just from the website and I have to tell you it was a huge success. The place is so beautiful, and charming. Michael,the owner, keeps the inn in spotless condition. He is always cleaning up, sweeping, whatever. There are eight rooms, all named for famous writers. We stayed in the Mark Twain, there were copies of his writings in the room. It was such a lovely room, a canopy bed, fireplace, private bath with jacuzzi made us not want to leave the room. Michael is a graduate of the Culinary Institute so you can imagine how delicious the breakfasts were.

I would recommend the Old Mystic Inn to anyone. We plan on a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank cousintata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
736 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2005

We stayed one night in October and it was the best accomodations we had during our week in New England. We've stayed at nearly two dozen B&Bs over the past 18 months and would rate this one right at the top. Hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. This B&B is located about 3 miles from the Mystic Seaport, so you're away from the crowds, but near the attractions. Breakfast was outstanding. We stayed in the main house, which was quaint and charming. Definitely a top notch B&B that the hosts take extreme pride in and it shows.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Mystic
2.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mystic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mystic Inn

Property: The Old Mystic Inn
Address: 52 Main St, Old Mystic, CT 06372-9900
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Mystic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house of the inn was built in 1784 and is a blend of antiques and reproduction furnishings. The carriage house was built in 1988 and is a modern Victorian, with rooms decorated in a country cottage decor. All eight rooms are named for a New England author. Queen sized beds, fireplaces, whirpool tubs. A Hearty country breakfast is prepared each morning by chef and owner Michael Cardillo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mystic Hotel Old Mystic
The Old Mystic Inn Connecticut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing