We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We froze sitting in a barely heated porch, next to windows that
barely closed. The waitron was forgetful and the food took 45 minutes to arrive. No bread during the wait. Water glasses left
empty. Drinks orders confused. If it hadn't had been my birthday
we might have left. (We had reserved ahead of time,4 people) The lights dipped every time an electric heater kicked on. Took forever to get the bill. The bar looked cheerful and warm as we raced out. Too bad we didn't just have a drink.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeriousBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner - Not so much on the Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food was very good and had a lovely presentation. Staff was well accommodating.
We also had afternoon tea on, and must say it fell quite short of our expectations...especially the presentation of the finger sandwiches. They need quite a bit more thought in design.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara21Westport_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“As Seen Through the Eyes of a Chef”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was very comforting to feel a genuine "Welcome back" after being away from this restaurant for several months. I have my favorite haunts when I'm touring in Paris,France. The Chestnut Grill is always the premier place to dine once I'm back in the area. I've become friends with many chefs throughout the years. To be invited into their realm of life as they prepare edible art is an honor . Not all chefs are artisans. A true chef is not just someone with formal training. He/she must master their craft using only the finest ingredients {no exceptions} with imaginative detail. Anticipation of tasting that first morsel on the fork with all the nuances of flavor has always been my Piece de Resistance. esp. when prior dining experiences have been sublime. Many of these culinary artists have hidden talents outside their perspective kitchens. Chef Kristofer Rowe's extended creative talent can be seen through the lens of his camera. His birds of prey
photo albums {I had a glimpse of} will be on display at the Bee&Thistle Inn along with his signature dishes. His selected seasonal menu offer a palette for the senses all there own. He can keep his day job as a photographer with all the accolades and gratitude only if he keeps his night time gig as the Chef de Cuisine - Chestnut Grill. Taste is everything! Chef Rowe does it with panache. James M

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderful evening, great food and music by Mass Confusion in the lounge. A relaxing birthday celebration ending with the pumpkin dessert. My favorite haunt never disappoints!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“spend some time”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

this defines dining - not just eating out. if you go plan to spend a few hours relaxing. the warming fire and the warm atmosphere blend to give you a very pleasurable experience. the staff masterfully goes about their business in the background without distracting presence. they are right there to anticipate your needs.
the food was nicely presented and was everything you could hope for even though the menu was somewhat limited. better to do thing right rather than offer too many choices is probably their thinking.
our party of 4 was evenly divided between salmon and steak. both choices were equally enjoyed. i think it was the veggies portion of the meal however, where the chef(s) showed the most creativity. look forward to this part.....
Three hundred dollars for a party of four is expensive for us north country folk but in keeping with the CT home to this restaurant and inexpensive compared to going into nyc.
bottom line - this is the place to go for a memorable dining experience to enhance that special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing