We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place for a Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
Ranked #1 of 4 Old Lyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place for a Wedding”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our "perfect summer wedding" would not have been possible had we not chosen the Bee & Thistle Inn. The innkeeper "Linnea" has made this historic home into a place where memories are made, and her staff work tirelessly to make every detail special.

That last point is worth repeating—by the end of the weekend we knew almost every staff-member by name, from Jack the brilliant and spirited "bar keep" (and mixologist) as well as servers like Marco and Jonathan and Kevin. They all feel like family to us now. (While mentioning family, we have a special place in our hearts for Sharon and Tosh!)

Linnea puts great pride in keeping the "artists colony" spirit of historic Old Lyme alive. The rooms are unforgettable and unique, and the grounds feature current artists' works. (Go next door to the Florence Griswold museum to understand the significance of this history!) And the bartender (Jack) and the chefs are also culinary artists.

I would recommend the Inn (and its restaurant) as a place to stay and eat, but if you are looking for a wedding venue, you have really hit the jackpot. Their comprehensive wedding package is a surprisingly good deal. We initially considered doing a "do-it-yourself" alternative and when we added up all the costs, we were delighted to find that the Bee & Thistle would cost (slightly) less. After all is said and done, there's no doubt we made the right choice.

The first floor of the inn is a series of charming rooms with a mixture of period details and local contemporary art. It is constantly reconfigured to serve as restaurant, bar, meeting space, and sitting rooms for enjoying "elegant tea".

By booking all nine rooms of the inn for the weekend, our friends and family had the run of the space, and it became a home away from home.

The grounds are also delightful. The standard wedding ceremony location is right along the river's edge. Kids and adults alike found the bocci ball (Italian lawn bowling) court the perfect place to bond. The place was just idilic!

We can't wait to come back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    21
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
20
67
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having enjoyed many lunches, dinners, and holiday events at the Bee I can say without a doubt that it is a perfect combination of incredible food, amazing staff, and comfortable environment. As someone who had grown up in Connecticut and makes the most out of the beautiful summer days, I am thrilled by the casual "shorts and flip flops welcome" atmosphere, while still maintaining a high-class experience. There is nothing stuffy or uptight about The Bee and Thistle or the staff. It is a beautiful location with great staff, classy casual atmosphere, and amazing food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This inn was not our first choice in the area (Connecticut River mouth), but we were lucky that our first choices were unavailable. We used this as a basis for visiting the Hartford and Mystic area, and were very happy with it. That praise includes the restaurant, which served us an excellent and unexpected dinner after a relatively late check in.
My only complaint would be that the bed was too soft. Not worth a star deduction though.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at The Bee and had the most wonderful time, I travel all over Europe and this was by far the loveliest place I have stayed, very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts delightful cocktails in the elegant bar and not forgetting the lovely meals we had in the restaurant. I can no wait for until my return. Special thanks go to the wonderful Tosh, Sharon and the lovey owner Linnea oh and the gorgeous cookie fairy who left me the most delightful freshly baked cookies by my bed every evening when she turned down my bed, and last but not least Bert the resident rescued parrot. This place and its staff, cookie fairy and parrot is a gem!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful stay here at this charming, well maintained Inn. The guest rooms are small but comfortable, with lovey views all around. Old Lyme is a pretty village, and there are lots of things to do within a short driving distance, The breakfasts offered were simple yet delicious, especially the warm scones. We also had enjoyable meals in the restaurant within the Inn. Spa treatments are also offered. The staff here are very helpful and charming, particularly Tosh on reception and Jake in the dining room/bar. Definately worth a visit to this Inn and this area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I live in NYC. I am a serious foodie. I eat the best of the best. In order to get the amount of quality this place has, I would have to go to 5 restaurants. Chef Kristofer Rowe is one of the best chef's CT has to offer. The food here is perfect. The new decor looks great. The whole place is one of New England's finest..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HunterS304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Cold winter evening in late February - we decided to venture out to the Bee and Thistle - we both decided to have the nights special of chicken and biscuits - good choice! The simple elegant entree was served with a lighter than air biscuit that topped an amazing chicken in gravy. The chicken,we found out was from an Amish farm and shipped overnight to the Inn - so tender and flavorful - don't stay home - come out and enjoy this treasure
Salad, dessert again, amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldLymeJezzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Lyme
3.2 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
5.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Old Saybrook
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#6 of 7 in Old Saybrook
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lyme Inn
Old Lyme Inn
#2 of 4 in Old Lyme
120 reviews
6.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge

Property: Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
Address: 100 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371-1426
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bee and Thistle sits nestled on five acres bordering the Lieutenant River, in the township of Old Lyme, Connecticut. The Inn is available as a large private guest house or by the individual room on a bed & breakfast basis, daily, weekly, or monthly. All of our nine guest rooms are adorned with elegant accents, each individual in design. Therein you will find fine linens, down pillows and a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bee And Thistle Hotel Old Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing