We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wounded Warrior Project Banquet Dinner”
Review of Old Lyme Inn

Old Lyme Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lyme Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boston Post Rd.
Transit: Our guests visiting from the I-95 corridor (Boston to New York) may request free pick up from the Old Saybrook, Amtrak-Shoreline East train station.
Description: Our chefs work diligently to offer dishes that run the gamut from traditional selections to unique options that will challenge the way you think about food. The lunch and dinner menu, as well as the wine and cocktail list, change seasonally and employ locally grown and deliciously fresh produce, meat, and seafood; as well as farm-roasted coffee and homemade ice cream.
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Wounded Warrior Project Banquet Dinner”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I just recently (March 2, 2013) hosted an event for the Wounded Warrior Project at The Old Lyme Inn. It was a banquet dinner for 25 and everything went extremely well. In planning the event, the staff was very receptive and very accomadating, especially with some of the handicapped veterans in attendance. The dinner was exceptional, and enjoyed by all!!!!
Some of the guests stayed at the Inn for the last 3 days (they were from New Jersey) and they all said their rooms were the BEST they have ever seen at a Country Inn!!!! The service was absolutely perfect, from the Young lady at the reception desk, waitress, bartender, and we even had a visit from the Manager, who made all the guests feel very welcome!!! All in attendance, said they would return!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    13
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average to Poor and Pricey”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Maybe it was an off night but we spent close to $200 for dinner with our two teens and we will never be back. Atmosphere is the best attribute but you cannot eat atmosphere. Wednesday is half price on the starter menu, thank God. Here goes...Scallops were supposed to be hot on potato puree but were cold, not warm, cold. Hamburger was nothing special but sweet potato fries were good. My son did like the Salmon burger and the oriental noodles were delicious. The squash soup was edible. but I would not order it twice. The pear salad was ok, I have had much better. The filet had a banquet texture and little taste. The wine and service were good. Disappointed overall. Should have gone to Outback or Longhorns and saved $100.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We've been looking forward to a visit to this newly-renovated spot, and were rewarded with a fine experience. We chose to eat in the pub area which was casual/sophisticated; nice fire going down one end of the room. The bar was lively but not intrusive. There are other more formal rooms-- we peeked around-- but none felt unduly stuffy. In general, the decor is warm and stylish.

Our meals were good and price-appropriate. The menu emphasizes seafood (not surprising, I guess in a shoreline restaurant), but as a non-seafood lover, I would have appreciated more selection. The service was attentive, friendly, and professional without being over-bearing.

There is an outside patio that looks very inviting and we are looking forward to summer lunches or dinners there. Also in the works is a jazz venue in a building attached to but separate from the main dining areas. This sounds like a lot of fun and a welcome option in this part of the shore.

Good luck to the OLI -- looks like you are off to a good start!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ntFenceMeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Old Elegant But So Comfortable”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I attended a wedding shower at The Old Lyme Inn and was impressed first by the beautiful interior and then with great wines and luncheon. The service was excellent with a very friendly staff. Each person that I talked to in our group really enjoyed their choice for lunch. This is a place that I would go back to if only to relax with friends for a drink and conversation.

There was a firepit for people to enjoy as well. That was a nice touch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely renovation, charming ambience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As a New Yorker and area weekender, I hoped the renovation of the Old Lyme Inn
would succeed, and I'm happy to report that it has. The exterior has always been
appealing, although previously in need of paint, but the interior rooms were formerly dark and drab.
On a winter day, the tavern and front rooms were brightly lit by the western afternoon sun.
The bartender and staff were friendly and attentive, and the oysters and Cuban sandwich were
delightful. The menu is varied, but short, and could use some embellishment. Otherwise, I enjoyed my
drink and meal, and the polite, mature ambience. Kudos to the new owners and management on
a job well done. In addition, by comparison with other local Inns/eateries, the prices seemed reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Jamesmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Lyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing