We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Quiet Restaurant....”
Review of Morning Glory Cafe

Morning Glory Cafe
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
North Haven
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely, Quiet Restaurant....”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Such a Lovely Find! Quiet, Friendly, wonderful service, beautiful outdoor area...delightful decor.
We arrived just as it opened so we had a peaceful breakfast experience....hot fresh food, I ordered scrambled eggs and home fries, came with a fresh fruit cup, very tasty, apples, strawberries, grapes and oranges...sweet and delicious.
Waitress was super friendly and accommodating. We sat by the window and had a lovely view of the grounds. Service was quick and cheerful. Definitely a special place to stop for Breakfast and I will definitely visit there again. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chemoangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fryeburg, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved the tantilizing tuna sandwich. My son had the chicken parm and gave it high marks as well.would like to go back and try breakfast sometime. Nice family story to the resturaunt as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legalrn06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and yummy food!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great spot...lovely outdoor area, plus inside seating. Always interesting specials...this was our second time here. Fiirst time for breakfast, a bit of a wait for outside seating, (but well worth the wait for the tranquil view), delicious omelet. Courteous, helpful and attentive waitstaff. Looking forward to going with girlfiends...then a bit of shopping in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy traditional AND Laotian breakfasts!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The owners are from Laos, so there are Laotian dishes on the menu. But the specialty seemed to be traditional, delicious American breakfast fare. Servings were large and came quickly and cheerfully.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“hint of tyme”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

the portions are large but not ridiculous, served with fresh fruit and great coffee.
my eggs benedict with bacon was a great treat. the sauce was made from scratch with a hint of tyme which was a nice surprise. whole wheat toast was very tasty. there were many mouth watering choices but i'm glad i made the choice i did.
presentation was worth a picture but there i was without my camera or cell phone.
outside seating was available and many familys with small children chose this option on fathers day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Morning Glory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing