We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully done and convenient”
Review of Old Lyme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Lyme Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Old Lyme B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The rooms at this place are absolutely beautifully done -- large, tasteful, and very comfortable. Every effort has been made to make them really quite luxurious in an understated manner. The Inn is an easy walk to the Florence Griswold Museum (across the street) and the center of Old Lyme. My only suggestion is to make breakfast just a bit more substantial.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We attended an exhibit at a great local gallery (Fresh Ayer) and decided to stay overnight nearby. We ended up doing the "All That Jazz" package which included dinner and a show at the jazz club at the Inn. Everyone working at the Inn was extremely helpful and accomodating and the room (#3) was very spacious and comfortable. It is a beautiful place to stay. The food was delicious and we had a great time at the jazz club. What a treat! We will be back.

Room Tip: Room #3 was a corner room on the first floor. It is just like it was described on the website - bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafeTravels0664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIManager, Event Coordinator at Old Lyme Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear SafeTravels,

We are so happy to read about your wonderful experience here at the Old Lyme Inn! It sounds like all around, we were able to provide you with a great value for the money you paid to stay with us, and that is definitely a win. Be sure to spread the word to friends and family about your experience, and we hope to host you again soon! Stay tuned to thesidedoorjazzclub.com and the oldlymeinn.com for menu updates, upcoming acts, and more opportunities to seek retreat here with us!

Warm Regards and Happy Traveling,

Elisa
Event Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I decided to go on a "random walk" to some bed and breakfast near us for our 11th anniversary. We ended up with the "All That Jazz" package at the Old Lyme Inn and were quite pleased. A nice place for a little get-away. The town of Old Lyme is nice and nearby beaches, Old Saybrook and Essex make for great excursions. Dinner at the inn was delicious and vegetarian-friendly. It is conveniently located off I-95 (a little too convenient, perhaps) which made it a breeze to get to (but you can hear road noise). The grounds looked lovely and the staff was very friendly and attentive. We would definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a great time and lovely stay at the inn. We signed up for the jazz package which included the room, a three course dinner of your choosing, plus house wine and an evening at the side door jazz club on the premises. We were so surprised at the level of musicianship! Fabulous! It was a terrific night spent with friends. Old Lyme is about 2 hours from both NYC and Boston in a perfect New England town ,we loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIManager, Manager at Old Lyme Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Good afternoon!

Thank you for the nice review! The Old Lyme Inn prides itself on providing outstanding service, gourmet cuisine & beautifully appointed accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great show! Feel free to contact me directly prior to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Savannah Hilmer

Marketing Coordinator
Old Lyme Inn
860.434.2600 tel:860.434.2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stopped by the Old Lyme Inn on a snowy Saturday after having visited the Florence Griswold Museum. The area is so beautiful and peaceful. We had lunch in their smaller bar area dining room. The fireplace was lit and the feel was so cozy and inviting. The lunch menu is not large, but there was a little something for everyone. They also offered a very nice wine selection. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. From our window we could see the fire-pit and comfy chairs out front for the warmer weather (we will be back). They also have a nicely done Jazz club in the Inn. We expressed interest in seeing the rest of the Inn, including the newly remodeled rooms and the staff could not have been any more gracious. The whole place is beautiful. We can't wait to return for dinner and jazz and perhaps a stay in one of the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChillinChetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIManager, Manager at Old Lyme Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Good afternooon ChillinChetty!

We are thrilled you had a nice visit with us! The Old Lyme Inn prides itself on providing outstanding service, gourmet cuisine & beautifully appointed accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Feel free to contact me directly prior to your next visit! Hopefully you can join us for a jazz show!

Kind regards,

Savannah Hilmer

Marketing Coordinator
Old Lyme Inn
860.434.2600 tel:860.434.2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived in a blizzard, were welcomed, had a great dinner with wine and great room. Very relaxed atmosphere. There was a jazz event in the bar but we retired early. The room was upgraded with very nice amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric_t185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The food is imaginative and well presented. The waitstaff is attentive and hip. We've eaten in the
bar and the small dining room usually spur of the moment and have never been disappointed. The new outdoor fireplace and drinks area in front of the Inn adds so much to the atmosphere, especially at night. Very gracious and charming but not stuffy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeriousBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Lyme
3.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
748 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
5.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#6 of 7 in Old Saybrook
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
6.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Inn

Address: 85 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371-2336
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Lyme
Price Range: $214 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Lyme Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Lyme Inn, fully renovated in 2012, offers a quaint yet modern, New England experience in the heart of historic Old Lyme, CT. All of our guest rooms offer unique touches that afford our visitors with the utmost in comfort and relaxation; including gas fireplaces, fresh baths, and luxurious bedding. The Old Lyme Inn’s restaurant and bar is a meeting place for visitors and locals alike. Sample our ever-changing cocktail and wine list, while dining on some of the most unique comfort food available in the area. Opening in early 2013, guests can while away the evenings listening to acclaimed jazz musicians in our intimate Jazz Club.Join us today to experience a new take on an old favorite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Lyme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Hotel Old Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing