We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Lyme Inn
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Road Inn(Old Lyme)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
62
34
14
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
34
14
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz clubnew englandcharming roomart galleryantique furnituregas fireplacestaff was extremely helpfulperfect weekendup to datebrunchdrumscenterpiecejulieweddingrelaxationpetersonhighway
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 129 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently my boyfriend took me to the old lyme inn for my birthday dinner. We did not like the food at all.When we got back home we googled the place and found some reasons why our dinners weren't that great. We wrote to the restaurant impossible producers to see if they could help change things around. Of course there are a lot of places needing help and the show will never get here but it might help them a lot. Molly Derry

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were all excited to have the Old Lyme Inn Restaurant re-open.We watched for nearly a year the transformation taking place.My wife and I stopped in for a lunch and a dinner.To our dismay hopes of a finer menu were dashed early on.The anticipation of this grand old place warrented a somewhat better selection.Throughly disappointed we let some time go by.Several of us gave it another try to see if the imperfections had been ironed out.Alas! All hope was lost.The experience was just plain awful.The service,food and price was below par.This place has so much potenial but is horribly lacking in every aspect.Coupons and trivia Tuesday's are a silly ploy There are major problems that need to be addressed within the restaurant.I should have heeded advice from others and chosen a better place.There won't be a next time at the Old Lyme Inn Restaurant .Pub atmosphere is not the answer Robert S

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the newly added rooms. Everything was top quality. What impressed me most was the service and the friendly staff. After two long days of traveling my son needed a quiet night. Their restaurant was full but they accommodated us with an impromptu table in the sitting room, supplied not just the usual kid's placemat-and-crayon but age-appropriate family games and a delicious dinner.
Long story short: I highly recommend this place both for staying overnight and for dining.

Room Tip: We had #4 in the new part of the house. King size bed and air mattress for child. Very quiet, surrounded by garden.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

New owners, new dining menu, great refurbishments--the perfect get-away. My wife and I loved every minute of our weekend at the Old Lyme Inn. Easy access from the Interstate delivers you into a charming town steeped in American impressionist art history. The Inn is charming, warm and hospitable, with a superbly attentive staff, and great bar. Yes, the food is excellent and all dining rooms were packed during our visit. The locals love it--we spoke with many. A future jazz club in under construction and promises to be a big hit! More rooms will soon be open. I'd love to live there! A+ in our book. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Bathrobes provided
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The new Inn is very pretty and had a roaring fire pit going outside. Once inside their was live music and a warm fire in th edining room. The food was just as I read in the other reviews. The portions are small. The flavors lacked that wOw factor. The cheddar jalapeno puffs were without any heat or cheesiness. There were only 5 (thats about $2 each and are worthy of maybe 50 cents each). I had the smallest hamburger I think I ever had at a restaurant, especially for $13. The lemon pepardelle was decent, yet not nearly enough pasta and too many mushrooms for $19. The sauce was creamy, but lacked any robust flavor. Also ordered was the Yellowfin Tuna which came in a pretty asian themed box. The rice was perfect, the Tuna was very good, yet a small portion. I think the food is of very high quality (beef from Four MIle River Farm) but the flavors are just very boring. Service.....well, it was slow. Anything requested bread, wine, more water, took a while. All in all, I just don't think it was worthy of a return trip. I was left wanting more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryandz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews