We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small focused museum, great staff”

Florence Griswold Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Old Lyme
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Patroness Florence Griswold opened her boarding house to a group of artists who formed the Lyme Art Colony, the elite of American Impressionism.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
493 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“small focused museum, great staff”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a well put together museum and historic home. The permanent collection focuses on american impressionist painting. It is largely displayed in the original historic home. Our children enjoyed the museum search game in the home. The gallery houses temporary exhibits; the current exhibits include a selection of impressionist paintings from a former First Lady and photographs of historic New England churches. Both were well put together and again there was an interactive search for the kids. We went on the last weekend of the fairy village. It was enjoyed by all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    40
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the Christmas display...”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

And you'll be sure to return. The trees are amazingly well done, and the house is a living, breathing work of art. This is as up close and personal you'll get to the lives of an art community as you can get without being one.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank johnahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good for children”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I wanted to have an artsy day with my kids, ages 11 and 12, and this was a pleasant way to do it. The historic house has period rooms recreating its days as a boarding house for artists (some famous, all good) and there is a visual scavenger hunt that we all enjoyed, as well as the antique furnishings and artwork. The docents were patient and helpful.
The contemporary museum annex has a broad selection of paintings, drawings, textiles, sculpture and decorative arts...a little something for everyone and easily seen in an hour. The grounds are also lovely so you can picnic or stroll outside in fine weather. A very pleasant afternoon!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great museum”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Griswold house is wonderful.The changing exhibits in the gallery are excellent as are the surroundings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fun for the Whole Family”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited the Griswold to view the Wee Faerie Village, which was so much fun! We also toured the Griswold home and were treated to great detailed information from our docent, Joan. The grounds, exhibits and art were top-notch. Highly Recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmm1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florence Griswold Museum also viewed

 

Been to Florence Griswold Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing