We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend getaway at the Hyatt. I have been here before on business and really enjoyed the location. It’s a short drive from the city (40 minutes) with tons of shopping on Greenwich Ave. We opted for the romance package which included valet parking, champagne with chocolate covered strawberries delivered to the room and a breakfast voucher at Winfield’s. Our room was extremely spacious and was nicely appointed with modern updates. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear OnRoam,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you and your wife shared a relaxing weekend with us this month. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are able to enjoy the added bonuses of our romance package, including valet parking and chocolate covered strawberries. We hope to welcome you and your wife back again soon for another weekend getaway.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    321
    147
    73
    44
See reviews for
285
253
52
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I have written many reviews and have a high tolerance for errors, oversights and mistakes...I am not a complainer. I checked into this hotel on a quiet Sunday evening. There were not many guests in the lobby or bar area. At check-in I was assigned a room not knowing it was directly below the Hyatt members club. I was awakened from a sound sleep at 5 a.m. by furniture being dragged across a wooden floor right above me. For the next 3 hours I was treated to to clicking of high heals, chairs being moved and stuff being dropped on the floor. I was trapped and at the mercy of hotel staff who assigned me to the wrong room. How do you know? You can not ask for a room change at 6 a.m. My stay was miserable. I complained to the manager who said she was sorry. They refused to give me a full refund. I tried many times to get this matter resolved before writing a poor review. I deserved better and you do too. Stay away from the Hyatt Greenwich at all costs.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank gfkr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear gfkr2,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us recently. We hope you will view this as an isolated incident and that you will consider Hyatt Regency Greenwich again the next time you find yourself in our area.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Greenwich Hyatt on several occasions during the past year. The lobby of this hotel is truly amazing. It has the feel of a tropical environment, with lush green trees and a small waterfall. It is an extremely relaxing place to sit and have a drink, especially after a long day. The hotel is close to the Stamford train station, which offers quick access into Manhattan. It is also close to the Greenwich shopping district, which offers an assortment of high end boutiques and restaurants.

The desk in the room comes with a highly ergonomic chair, which is great when you have to finish that report at night in your hotel room. The desk also has an attached media center, with plenty of outlets for cell phones, laptops, etc. The staff at this hotel is uniformly helpful. As one would expect from a Hyatt, they go out of their way to provide superb customer service. If there is any problem, it will be fixed immediately. If for some reason it is not, the hotel will go out of its way to make it up to you. Special kudo’s to CJ, Front Office Manager, who always provides superb customer service.

This property is rated as four stars, and it truly deserves that rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 47JeffreyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear 47JeffreyA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our tropical four story garden atrium lobby. It is always nice to know that our guests are able to take advantage of our convenient location near New York City by train, as well as the great local shopping in Greenwich. It is also wonderful that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable and convenient.
We will be sure to share your comments with CJ, our Front Office Manager. We hope to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Greenwich very soon.

Best Regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Greenwich Hyatt Regency over Christmas vacation. It's fairly convenient to New York City, well discounted for the holidays and offers a nice alternative to staying in Westchester. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. We didn't eat at the restaurants in the hotel we choose to have breakfast in very nearby downtown Greenwich instead. They did offer free coffee in front of the hotel's one bank of elevators which was a nice touch. The indoor atrium is fun for kids to see and walk around. Parking is not included and the self parking lot is in back of the hotel. Checking in and out of the hotel was easy. Since there's only one bank of elevators in the hotel be prepared for a long walk to and from your room unless you ask for one near the elevators. We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd floor not next to, but not too far from the elevators should give you the optimal l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear G3G,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are able to spend relaxing holiday vacations with us in Greenwich. We're happy that you enjoyed the complimentary coffee that we serve on every guestroom floor each morning. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, SC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I traveled north to help our daughter and son-in-law with a kitchen renovation project. We drove some fourteen hours and met with a multitude of challenges during our pre-holiday stay. What went right for us during our one week in Connecticut, occurred by way of the staff at the Hyatt Regency in Greenwich CT, who provided exceptional and responsive service during our time with them. We travel frequently so feel qualified to share these sentiments with you. Our room was large, comfortable and well appointed. The management team were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast fare was fresh, varied and delicious. The service provided by the restaurant staff was truly exceptional. I would not hesitate to visit this Hyatt again and would highly recommend this location to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Downtowngirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Downtowngirl85,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on Trip Advisor! We are happy to know that your stay was so pleasant after a very long drive to Old Greenwich. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests feel well-taken care of and are appreciative of our service standards. We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon!

Kind regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were driving from NYC to MA and wanted a stop in between. Having stayed frequently at what used to be the Hayatt Regency Bonaventure in Westin, FL, we expected to find a similar quality in the Greenwich Hyatt Regency. Unfortunately, we did not. When we arrived, I requested that a shower cap be delivered to our room, since none was provided. I was told that it would be sent right up. Forty minuytes later when we left for dinner, it had not arrived. Okay, I thought, it will be delievered while we're out. No such luck. I had to call again and explain that I needed the shower cap so I could shower before bed. This time it was delivered as promised.

We slept very well, and then we went to the breakfast buffet, priced at the amazingly high figure of $27. The Hyatt Regency Bonaventure's buffet was $15, so we experienced some sticker shock but said, "Oh well, it's Greenwich." Then we discovered that the bacon was burned, the only fresh fruits offered were oranges and apples, and the egg white omelet we ordered came with egg yolks.

Then, imagine our annoyance when we found that our bill included a charge for the Internet (which it should not have), a charge for the parking (which it should not have), and did not deduct the $25 coupon included in our reservation.

I spoke to the manager, and she was apologetic. She offered us soft drinks and a boxed lunch for our car trip, which was a nice gesture, but that hotel has serious service problems that need to be corrected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glad2BDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Glad2BDone,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expecations. It is upsetting to learn that your experience with our breakfast buffet was not up to standards. We hope this stay will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Regency Greenwich again. We would welcome the opportunity to host your accommodations again in the future.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel was in perfect condition and decoration for the Holidays. Everyone was extremely accommodating and everything was a great experience! Room service was great, along with breakfast. Definitely one of the better Hyatts I have been too, great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jesse K,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you found our hotel and staff to be very accommodating. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during the holiday season. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Greenwich
3.5 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1.0 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#8 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
15.9 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Property: Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Address: 1800 E Putnam Ave, Old Greenwich, CT 06870-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the Stamford Business District and train station and 20 minutes from White Plains, NY. Easy access off I-95, Exit 5. Only 45 minutes by train from Manhattan. Complimentary shuttle service available within a five-mile radius. All guestrooms are wired for complimentary high-speed & wireless internet access. Surrender to the Hyatt Grand Bed - featuring luxurious goose down pillows, triple sheeting, a thick down blanket - all piled atop a Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattress. Check-in or out with a simple touch of a screen using the Express Check-in Kiosk. Retrieve flight information and boarding pass using the Hyatt Fast Board technology. Enjoy our Stay Fit at Hyatt program at the fitness center featuring Life Fitness cardio and strengthening machines with individual flat screen TVs, as well as an indoor pool and whirlpool. Satisfy your appetite for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Winfield's Restaurant winner of the Best Sunday Brunch by Greenwich Magazine. Relax in the Gazebo Bar for a specialty cocktail and a light fare menu. Or enjoy the ultimate in convenience when you dine in the comfort of your own room with our extensive Room Service menu. Restore your spirits after a workout with a power drink or snack at our Hyatt Stay Fit Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenwich Hotel Old Greenwich
Greenwich Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Old Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Old Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing