We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
albany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I read some bad reviews here and was a little bit worried but I didn't experience anything bad during my stay. It is actually a pretty nice hotel in a good location, friendly staff and nice amenities. Rooms and furniture are old and may need renovation but they are spacious, clean and beds are comfortable. No coffee in room, neither in hall way. Self parking is $10.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplehusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaney037, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff. We hope to see you back at the hotel again soon. We will be renovating this fall and look forward to your review of our new product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    395
    191
    97
    59
See reviews for
399
338
64
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was the chosen "out of town guest" hotel for a wedding we were attending in August. I requested an early check in, and we had no problems with the request once we arrived. We had enough time to enjoy the hotel bar and lunch. The loby is very nice, wide open with lots of plants. The food was pretty good and the cocktail menu had a great variety. I had my hair done at the salon inside the hotel. It was a very plesant experience, friendly staff and great work. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom well stocked. We were on the second floor, and you could hear alot of noise, however it also happen to be a Saturday night and there were various weddings/ wedding post parties going on. At 6am, the fire alarm went off, and everyone had to evacuate the hotel. While inconvinient, it is completely understandable that things like this happen and safety first. We sat outside ( half asleep for maybe 30 minutes) before being allowed back in. Over all staying at the Hyatt Greenwich was a plesant experience, and if ever in Greenwich again we would definately consider returning

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very nice property in Greenwich but very expensive. Great meeting facilities and nice rooms with nice amenities. Room service and hotel restuarant are very expensive so I'd advise eating out. It's ok for long stays. There is a small shopping center next door but no restuarants to speak of. The Stamford Mall is right down the street and it's coveniently located right off of I-95. They pride themselves on service but if booking a large group please make sure you go over your event in detail. They're not great at handling large groups (300+) so bear that in mind.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is very nice and large, with a garden area in the center with a pond and beautiful trees and plants. Lots of comfortable seating in the garden area as well. Very relaxing...
Rooms are very nice, spacious. Bed was comfortable as well.
Instead of brewing your own in your room, Coffee was offered on each floor which was a nice touch.
Food at each event was very good...

Room Tip: This hotel offers smoking rooms, make sure you specify which you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have a pretty high tolerance for hotel miscues, but this one was just ridiculous. Here's a sampling:
- Walls so thin I could hear my neighbor urinating. (I wanted to clap when he was finished.)
- A limp shower head that I had to support with one hand while bathing. The water pressure, btw, was indistinguishable from the faucet.
- No coffee in the room. (And to the manager who will inevitably reply and say there is coffee by the elevators: It's true there were cups and milk and sugar packets. But no coffee. Might want to refill that now and then.)
- A grotesquely bad breakfast buffet for $25. You've seen this kind of buffet before, but usually at $39 hotels: A huge batch of insta-eggs. Stale croissants from Sam's Club. Bacon so thin and greasy that if you try to pick up a slice, you end up pulling up a 38-strip-welded-cluster.

This hotel is a Best Western in a big building. So why pay Hyatt prices?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggman_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaney037, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Please accept our sincere apology for the concerns and issues during your stay with us. Please contact us directly so we may refund your room and tax for your stay with us. It is our hope that you will return to the hotel so we may renew your faith in both our product and service. We will be going through a major renovation this fall to include all guest rooms, suites, corridors, meeting space, public areas and health club. We hope that you can return to enjoy our new product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were visiting family in the area and there aren't many hotel choices. This is the best of the lot, but in dire need of renovations. Our room had a chair that wasn't fit for donation to Goodwill. Overall dingy and worn. The walk from the elevator to our room couldn't have been any longer. On the plus side, I enjoyed taking a run into Old Greenwich every morning, where you can see lovely homes along the Long Island Sound. There is a great bagel shop in town, too. The bed was comfortable and the room wasn't noisy, despite a wedding going on. Our rate was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, not too far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngf711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaney037, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel this past weekend. We apologize for the condition of the guest room that you stayed in. We are planning a major renovation of the property to include: Guestrooms, Suites, Corridors, meeting space and public areas this fall to be completed in early January. We hope that you will give us another chance and return once our renovations are completed.
Again, thank you for staying with us and your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I'm not going to lie, after booking this hotel and reading some prior reviews I was quite worried about what I had gotten myself into, especially considering the hotel was a surprise as a part of my boyfriend's birthday. However, upon arrival I knew I had made the right decision. The drinks at the bar were reasonably priced to say the least (a blue moon and a rum drink only came to $15!) I had read ahead so we stopped at the grocery store down the block for snacks and drinks for the hotel room to avoid the out of pocket costs some others had complained about. We went into Stamford for dinner and did not eat in the hotel but did enjoy the pool, jacuuzi, and the lounge area near the lobby. Our room was immaculate, modern, and had a beautiful view. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntrinceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Greenwich
3.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1.0 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
798 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Property: Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Address: 1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the Stamford Business District and train station and 20 minutes from White Plains, NY. Easy access off I-95, Exit 5. Only 45 minutes by train from Manhattan. Complimentary shuttle service available within a five-mile radius. All guestrooms are wired for complimentary high-speed & wireless internet access. Surrender to the Hyatt Grand Bed - featuring luxurious goose down pillows, triple sheeting, a thick down blanket - all piled atop a Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattress. Check-in or out with a simple touch of a screen using the Express Check-in Kiosk. Retrieve flight information and boarding pass using the Hyatt Fast Board technology. Enjoy our Stay Fit at Hyatt program at the fitness center featuring Life Fitness cardio and strengthening machines with individual flat screen TVs, as well as an indoor pool and whirlpool. Satisfy your appetite for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Winfield's Restaurant winner of the Best Sunday Brunch by Greenwich Magazine. Relax in the Gazebo Bar for a specialty cocktail and a light fare menu. Or enjoy the ultimate in convenience when you dine in the comfort of your own room with our extensive Room Service menu. Restore your spirits after a workout with a power drink or snack at our Hyatt Stay Fit Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenwich Hotel Old Greenwich
Greenwich Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Old Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Old Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing