We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place for kid dinners” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House Cafe

Beach House Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach House Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Old Greenwich
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good place for kid dinners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Food is nothing to write home about but the people are nice and they accommodate kids well. Bar scene is interesting. Feels like a pick up place some evenings but doesn't interfere with the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KEP513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
279 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Family and Wallet Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

For casual Saturday dining with friends..............mac and cheese with a side salad, or a burger, or fish and chips.................The food was good, the prices reasonable, the service efficient, the atmosphere pleasing, the table wait was less than expected......what's not to like? Dinner for two with no booze or desert ran about $30 prior to the tip.. What's not to like?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SAILSOC381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have enjoyed the BHC for over 7 years--the food is consitenly good and the service excellent.
Good family place---outside sitting area makes a warm night a perfect evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cute Beach Town Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

While driving along I-95 we chanced getting off the interstate to look for lunch. We're unfamiliar with the area and randomly chose the road to Old Greenwich. Beach House Cafe is located on a charming street with plenty of cute shops and restaurants in an upscale beach town.

I'm glad I didn't read the TripAdvisor reviews which rate this restaurant poorly.

The restaurant seemed to be filled with lots of locals on the Sunday afternoon we visited. That's always a good sign. Food was tasty. I had the delicious scallop salad which was topped with three very large scallops, cranberries, feta, bacon, apple slices and a vinaigrette. Charming atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeitAll728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Was there last night with my wife. I used to frequent this place often when it first opened but it has gone way downhill. I had buffalo chicken tenders appetizer and it was meh -- kind of small, not very crunchy but somewhat palatable. For a main I had the grouper special which was horrible. It was soft, soggy, hardly breaded, burned on one part, still had bit of skin on another part and overly spicy. My wife had friend calamari which were terrible. They weren't crispy and the breading was crumbling off badly.It was a mess. The tentacles were not cooked thoroughly so that the center part was wet and chewy. I had one mixed drink which was all juices, practically no alcohol. The one bright spot was the lobster roll my wife had which she said was very good. Service was forgettable but not horrible.I am really disappointed in this place because I am a local guy wanting to support local place but this place was bad, just bad. To top it off, including 15% tip, the tab was $95!! What a ripoff. For that much you could have much better food elsewhere. In fact, Maceknzie's right down the street (granted it is a tired looking bar atmosphere) has much better bar food, which what Beach House amounts to. It seems the clientele has caught on as well because for a Thursday night, the place was nearly empty, it didn't use to be that way.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenwichMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing