We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable retreat on the Nam Khan river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ban Xieng Lom
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Enjoyable retreat on the Nam Khan river”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you don't like walking up a lot of steps each day then this is not the place for you!! The rooms (ours had beautiful views across the river) are some distance from the restaurant and public areas. The breakfast included was very nice. A decent lunch and dinner menu at reasonable prices. My only gripe was the Christmas eveing buffet which was incredibly expensive and not what we wanted to be there for. The hotel is a good half hour taxi journey from the centre of town so you need to plan where you want to eat. Nice places to relax, whether on your own balcony or beside the pool. Rooms were cold though (no heating) as we experienced unseasonably cold weather. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear pumpkinIzmir. Thank you to share your impression of the resort we really appreciate your comments and any suggestion are wecome. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    49
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
106
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at modest accommodation for most of our time in Luang Prabang, but splurged for three nights at the Zen Resort to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the new year. We're so glad we did! The location is beautiful and secluded, the scenery is breathtaking, the staff - especially Kham Sane - are very accommodating, and the food is delicious with a great range of options (including vegetarian options). Our bungalow was private and spacious with a balcony overlooking the river, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We took our cue from our surroundings and just relaxed for most of our stay, apart from a four hour kyaking trip down the river, via the Tad Sae waterfall. We were even lucky enough to see elephants bathing along the way. Our only disappointments were not being able to have a Japanese bath (no longer in operation) and deciding not to get a massage (as the massage room is not very private). Overall though, it was a wonderful 'retreat like' experience and one of the highlights of our trip to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, Kopchai! to take the time to write your comments on our resort and give us your feedback. I am happy to be able to share our dream with you. Please note we offer massage in the room and we plan to built a special room for massage near the waterfall where it's more private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Really enjoyed this resort. We stayed 3 nights in mid-Dec when there was a cold snap. The rooms on the river were beautiful, the food was fantastic and the ability to relax all day long here was well worth the money. The fire pit was an added bonus during the cold weather. Great hosts as well. We were confused for breakfast as we thought it was included but were given menus with prices each morning. I did not order a full breakfast thinking it was a bit $ only to find out it was included in our price. Otherwise, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest, thank you to take the time to gives us your impression about our resort. I am happy that you appreciate what we did and share the beauty of the nature of Laos and its tranquility. I am sorry about the confusion for the menu of our breakfast, we put the price for the guest coming from outside. Our breakfast it's included in the room. Thank again on the name of all our staff. Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile


the resort offers beautiful bungalows with great views in an absolute quiet surrounding. the owner and his wife as well as the staff were very friendly. the swimming pool is beautifully located with a perfect mountain view. the kitchen was the best we got during our whole journey. we did very relaxing trekking tours and hope to come back one day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you to take the time to give us your impression & feeling about the resort. Its encourage us and our staff to Keep Going and to give our best to serve our clientele!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Tripadvisor reviews don't do Zen justice. Beautiful location of our bungalow overlooking river and mountains. Very helpful and knowledgeable Quebec/Lao husband and wife team who built and run the resort lovingly. Wonderfully refreshing fresh water pool without chlorine, the perfect finish to an excellent massage and wood fired steam room. Great kayaking on Namkin River with kayaks supplied by the resort, and very good hiking from the resort too. Good food. And only 1/2 hour from the center of Luang Prabang for a fraction of the cost of town hotels and resorts. Our only regret is that we spent our first 2 nights staying at a "fancy" resort in town, leaving us only 2 nights at Zen. Unless you need lots of "pampering", stay at Zen.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank discriminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest, we really appreciate your comments. We know it's impossible to give satisfaction or to please to everyone. But a what a comfort to our moral when customers appreciate what has been achieved and the efforts we have put. thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Jean de Gonville, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful hideaway, really an eco-lodge with individual
villas, chalet style, in the forest or near the Nam Khan River. What the
website does not emphasise is
that the Elephant village and the neighbouring village of Xieng Lom are only
a half-hour walk away, and that the hotel’s boat (pirogue) can take you in
ten minutes to the Tad Sae waterfalls. It was fortunate for us that after
the heavy rains in October, the many separate tiers of falls were
magnificent, the swimming was great, and rides on the elephants and
bathing with the elephants were available. The hotel has a beautiful natural
swimming pool overlooking the mountains; you can also wander round the
gardens, admiring the many
butterflies or sit overlooking life on the river. The hosts, Jean-Luc and
Moon are welcoming and informative and the friendly, smiling staff, led by
Mr Kham Saen, looked
after us very well. Moon is a fantastic cook and serves a wide range of
Asian and European dishes cooked to order using fresh produce. The hotel is
at the moment twenty
minutes from Luang Prabang, not a big deal but next year this should shrink
to ten minutes when the road works are finished.
We had a marvellous six nights in the Zen Namkhan Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: We appreciated the air-conditioned rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpraml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much to take the time to give us your feed back. It's not easy to please everyone but we try hard! Your comment encourage us to continue to work hard to make the stay of our guest at zen Namkhan unforgettable. Thank you again on the name of all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Zen Namkhan Resort is a fabulous little find. Located just outside Luang Prabang and with the most beautiful mountain views, this is a place to unwind, relax and enjoy nature and tranquility.

The rooms are clean, quiet and very comfy and they are beautifully furnished and decorated. We sat each afternoon on the verandah of our room, or in the upstairs lounge, and watched the slow change from day to night. Fantastic!

The service is great and the staff really friendly and welcoming. The natural pool was probably a little too natural for me. We visited in September and it was very humid and damp. The pool had a algae growing all over the bottom and sides and swimming made it float to the top. Eeergh. I just didn't put my head under the water!

Possibly the only negative I could add, and this is probably more a cultural thing and my issue more than anyone else's, but there were two little monkeys in a cage near the entrance. They really require a larger cage with more things to stimulate them. The Manager did say he would look at a larger cage but he may have just been keeping me happy. I hope if I return that I find the monkeys housed in a more appropriate enclosure. :)

This is certainly a little luxury you should try to book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest, First thank you to take the time to share your experience at our resort and send us your feed back. I will like to give more information regarding your mention about the cage of the monkeys. The size of the cage come from Florida Caging Regulation (see: Monkeyzone, a website speciliazed in monkeys cage). For the size of our monkeys (we call them Bonny & Clyde) they said: (Spider or Capucin) For one or two animals, a cage of six feet long by six feet wide by eight feet high prefererable walk-in, with three parallel swinging bars. Actually our cage exceed those dimension by 1 foot. I can said they are in cage for there protection otherwise they will be hunted by villager! For the swimming pool I am sorry for the inconvenient of the green algues I have to admit at that time I had only one pump the other one I was in repair waiting for pieces coming from France. But since everything it's in order and we clean and clean again the swimming pool. I cannot avoid to green algues it's part of the ecosystem of the ecologic swimming pool but we working hard to limit the inconvenient Please receive my Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ban Xieng Lom
6.4 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort

Property: Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Address: 082, Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang > Ban Xieng Lom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ban Xieng Lom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Luang Prabang at 12 km form the center, it's the perfect place to enjoy the breathtaking on the Namkhan River and mountains. You will be able to enjoy the NamKhan River with a serene boat ride, kayak or Trek around the Resort and Tad Sae Waterfall or doing yoga and meditation. We just finish to built a new steam room next to our swimming pool. The beautiful onsite restaurant offer excellent choice of menus, using ingredients from organic produces like herbs and vegetables. Unwind at the Ecological chlorine-free pool after a tiring day. Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort is a perfect sanctuary for leisure travelers who seek for sophistication within a serene environment. Please note the new road to Luang Prabang it's almost completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Namkhan Boutique Hotel Ban Xieng Lom
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort Laos/Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing