We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run the other way!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakdale Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oakdale Pizza
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Oakdale
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Uncasville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run the other way!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is hit or miss with this place mostly miss I recently had a bbq pulled pork sandwich that should never had been made the pork was all dried out and tasted horrible. I have had their pizzas and pass on that too way better pizzas else where!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charles l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great Greek Style Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Not sure if Larry the Lizard actually ate at Oakdale Pizza...I've never seen a greasy pizza there.

Let me put my position in perspective. I am a Neopolitan pie kinda guy. I came to Oakdale from NY as a kid and I held pizza to a pretty high standard based on some of the places I ate at there. So, this Greek pan style pizza was a joke to me....but, eventually I came to appreciate it for what it is...a different, but equally enjoyable take on pizza. Oakdale Pizza's rendition continues to be the standard by which I rate all other Greek pan style pizzas. Crust was always perfect, good quality meats (perfectly crisped pepperoni) and I loved the shaved meatball pizza. I moved out of the area almost 15 years ago and I still would stop in for a pie to go whenever I visited my family down there...nothing in my new area compares.

When the restaurant burned down a couple years ago, I was really sad. The family that runs the place has been there forever and it was a bad way to go out for the second generation that runs it now. To my delight, they opened up in a new location a mile or so away and it looks great, has a more varied menu and a bar. I think their Father, who opened the place, would be proud. I was even more pleased when the pizza was just as good as I remembered.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I like this place because the pizza tastes good. I would like to recommend this place.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linshaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
“The Best Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

I used to live in Oakdale, CT. I absolutely love Oakdale Pizza. I've never found a pizza place with the same quality food. Their Buffalo Chicken Pizza and Taco Pizza are wonderful. I now live in Lowell, MA, but I've never found a Pizza place quite like Oakdale Pizza. It is absolutely great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank regispartanitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guardalavaca, Cuba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad food thats really overrpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

They're extremely busy, especially for a place that sells super greasy pizza thats waaaaay overpriced.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larrythelizard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakdale Pizza also viewed

Oakdale, Mystic Country
 

Been to Oakdale Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing