We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good beer and pub fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harp & Dragon Pub

Harp & Dragon Pub
Ranked #45 of 112 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
388 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good beer and pub fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been to the Harp several times and just went again last night, and had the usual experience. The Harp is your typical Irish type pub, with about two dozen beers on tap and your typical pub and Irish food. I went with an old standby of pub chicken fingers and fries. Their fries are very good and they also have their specialty of "cottage chips" which are seasoned waffle type fries with a dipping sauce. Those are good for something different as well. The chicken fingers were a bit dry, but their house honey mustard is very good. My husband ended up getting the Boxty which is a potato pancake stuffed with tenderloin, onions, and with a nice sauce on top. He was very happy with his choice and the bite I tried was quite flavorful. Our friend went with the chicken ranch BLT salad, which she said was good as well. The beers were tasty, as always. The service has always been friendly enough. This is a good place to go if you are looking to just hang out with friends in a pub setting with decent food and beer. It's not fancy by any means, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a pub, and a good one at that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I drove into Norwich from NY state for some family matters, and after a few hours in the car, we needed some good food. It was our first time to Norwich, and when we drove into the downtown area, our first thoughts were of how such New England towns are going through rough times. The classic charm of such places is there, covered by a little dust and showing years of wear and tear. Many of the businesses were shuttered and buildings vacant, but right there on Main Street sat the Harp and Dragon, beckoning to our bellies. For lunch on a weekday, it seemed a bit quiet, but then again, being on such a sleepy street won't draw the masses, I assumed. Spacious and vast, the interior of the place was of the standard pub design, which both my wife and I liked. Though it was a bit hot, and they said the AC was on its highest, the overall experience of being there was totally fine (though I wouldn't label it as "just like Ireland" as another reviewer mentioned). The food came in mounds piled high, scrumptious and hearty, as pub food should be--though it was too much for the two adults even if our kids helped out. The beer on tap, though I could just have one, was worthy of accolades, and the service was good, although I'd asked if there was an internet cafe or coffee shop with wireless in town--and the waitress who said "no" forgot to mention that they themselves had WiFi, which another customer later told us. No biggie there. Otherwise, she even called her boyfriend for us to ask for directions to our B&B, which we'd asked about. Indeed, if you are looking for good pub grub and a variety of beer on tap, the H&D is right up your alley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itcho_ittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Irish Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

As soon as you walk in the door, you feel like you are in Ireland. The atmosphere and great food makes you want to plan a trip across the pond to visit the Emerald Isle

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank herBEVness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Just had their Sunday morning brunch- $17 a person- and it was absolutely delicious! Prime rib, pasta and omelet stations, eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fruit and yogurt, sausage and bacon, home fries, sweet and regular mashed potatoes, a dessert station and a Bloody Mary bar! Everything was plentiful and well-made, service is great, especially for a buffet-type meal. Even the kids station was great! Keep an eye out for coupons in the local paper!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“take out lunch disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ordered takeout for lunch with customers. One ordered a sandwich with NO onions - I stood next to her when she ordered. When we brought back lunch, her sandwich was loaded with onions. Her call back to complain was handled rudely - no apologies, no offers to make it right, just a rude arumentative response.
How was lunch for the remainng two? Fair at best. No forks for fries or cole slaw, no wrapping pickles to keep the juices corralled, nothing exceptional between the slices of bread. Overall, a disappointment. I would guess that if no bar business accomnpanies a food order, you're out of luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabinetrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harp & Dragon Pub also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Harp & Dragon Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing