We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Courtyard Norwich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Norwich
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Mineola, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Great hotel with friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms at a good rate.

This was our first visit to this particular area and we have used trip advisor to look at reviews for hotels for quite a while. Never being quite sure whether hotel employees posted these types of reviews for and against each other I was always a bit skeptical. I must say though that overall this hotel received good reviews and we were not dissapointed. The only issue we had was that the room heater was a bit noisy but overall a very nice hotel.

I plan on taking the time to help keep others in the loop in the future. Thanks to Trip Advisor for helping steer us in the right direction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    102
    62
    24
    19
See reviews for
51
106
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

From the moment my wife and I walked in, the service was excellent. We had a reservation, and they had my room keys in my hand within about 60 seconds.

The room was on Level 2, and not far from the stairs and elevator. I didn't use the ice machine, so I can't say much about that. But I did see the machine.

The Bistro is a very small cafe that serves fresh food, drinks, and Starbucks coffee. At night we had the salad and the Apple Cobbler, which were both very good (and hand made).

The room was on 68 and confortable. I did think the heat fan coming on every 5-10 minutes was a bit annoying, especially if you are light sleeper. In the morning we put the AC on as it was very hot. Same thing. The fan kept coming on. It could not get the temperature exact.

Ended up at The Bistro for breakfast as well. The oatmeal was very good, and I had the French Toast with fruit. Awesome! Overall, very good place to stay. I will stay again, no question.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBPlusPCRepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stay at this hotel 1 - 2 times per month while traveling for work. I'm always greeted by a friendly staff and treated well throughout my stay. The hotel lobby has a small restaurant where I can grab a light dinner and a beer. They also serve breakfast and Starbucks coffee in the AM. Marriott's Courtyard hotels do a good job of catering to the business traveler.

The rooms are adequate, a little dusty at times but there's nothing that will prevent me from staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passingthru_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott as an alternative to staying at the WAY overpriced casino hotel. The Courtyard was a pleasant surprise. Conveniently located to the casino right off the highway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. For the money, the Courtyard is a great deal!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We decided last minute to take a 0ne night get away to Mohegan Sun Casino. I was able to get a nice rate for Friday night. The hotel has been updated and was very nice.Lobby lounge, and bistro areas all new and in great condition.Our room was very nice. Updated bedding and HD TV. When I woke up in the mourning. I thought that it was a cloudy day, but the blackout curtins had done a Great job with the mourning sun.
Overall a Nice stay, and will return for sure! Thank You Marriott Norwich!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkesn228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

check the mattress before going to bed. i stayed here a few moths ago and was concerned b/c i felt very itchy throughout the night...but could not find any evidence. this time i found it. thank goodness, before i climbed in the bed. management didn't seem surprised.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmfle678, Manager at Courtyard Norwich, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Our housekeeping department consists of a certified, knowledgeable staff. Associates in the department have been thoroughly trained to identify bed bugs, signs of bed bugs, and proper procedures of dealing with and eliminating bed bugs. While we do maintain a contract with a commercial pest & bug preventative service, our team routinely and cautiously inspects all of our public space, guest room beds, carpets, and furniture. Fortunately, we have never had a bed bug infestation at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I was very impressed with this Hotel. It was very clean, easy to get around, staff was very friendly. Had a b-day party for my sister and Alan from engineering assisted me in setting up the room and carrying items for the party to room. He was not only very helpful, but he and others were very pleasant to deal with. I would have to say that Alan is an asset to your organization.
I would definetely stay there again ( in only stayed one night) in the future. Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,730 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#4 of 6 in Norwich
323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Norwich
Hampton Inn Norwich
#1 of 6 in Norwich
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norwich

Property: Courtyard Norwich
Address: 181 W Town St, Norwich, CT 06360-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Courtyard
Norwich Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing