We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”

Joys Country Skillet
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We sat at the counter as every seat in the restaurant was filled. There is no push to eat, pay, leave. The food is served hot and well cooked. Its plain, simple and filling. It may not look glamorous but it is tasty and filling and the service was prompt, welcoming and polite. Did I say that the food was good? I am getting hungry now just thinking about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Insitefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great breakfast in a warm, inviting atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Joy's is a wonderful, local restaurant with an eclectic menu. It is owned by the Flores family (Joy was the previous owner) and it seems like most of the family is there working. They serve really great breakfast - traditional and Mexican!!! Lunch and dinner is the same - traditional American food and really, really good authentic Mexican food.
The service is great and everybody is super friendly (including the other diners).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast joy”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of the best diner breakfasts I've had! I was lured in by the picture of the Spanish casserole on the menu, and it did not disapoint. My partner had the hash breakfast, also a good choice. Servers were smiley and helpful. And the prices were very fair! There were a steady stream of customers, even on a weekday late morning. Do try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagflicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent food, wait staff so friendly and helpful, food delicious, a bargain!!! They keep filling your coffee and do it with a smile. Most of the local residents eat here so you know it is delicious. Try it... Easy and fast if you need a quick meal or you can sit and relax. You are not rushed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucydesiSuffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and reviews are pretty much dead on. Place is clean, servers are very nice and very attentive. Food was good and reasonably priced. I would stop in again when in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joys Country Skillet also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Montville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Joys Country Skillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing