We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Horrible customer service, unfriendly, unprofessional, unhelpful staff. Do not give these people your credit card number as they will try to charge you twice...manager could not even be bothered to give me a personal phone call apologizing for the mishap. now I have overdraft fees and a hold on my account when I paid with CASH for the rooms I booked. Very angry and upset, I have never dealt with such incompetent, uncourteous people. Stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihateholidayinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 329 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here base don proximity to Mohegan Sun Casino, especially as they offer a shuttle service. Well we checked in - after waiting in a line 10 deep and while waiting in the line found out that the shuttle to the casino (one of the main reasons we stayed here) only fit 14 people and only ran once an hour! With Valentine's weekend and a major concert at the casino, you would think that the shuttle could run back and forth every 20 minutes or so. If you stay here thinking that you can take their shuttle service to the casino and back, think again! For a few more dollars we could have stayed right at the casino! The parking lot does not have enough spots - especially when the hotel is near capacity and there are functions going on - people were parking in the grass areas. I do have to say the beds were comfortable and the hotel clean although when we got off the elevator there was some smell that stayed throughout the weekend - maybe new carpet smell. I would think twice about staying here as we still had to drive to the casino.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceangirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed here while visiting Mohegan Sun so we didn't spend much time in room or use amenities but room was nice, spacious, and clean. Beds were great! Bathroom was small but sufficent. Microwave and fridge were convenient. Staff was very friendly. Shuttle to casino was nice and the food/gaming vouchers were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISellSyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn on a Friday night because I had event tickets at Mohegan Sun. It is less than 10 minutes from the casino. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice. The bathroom was tiny but clean. I wouldnt want to spend a week here but a night or two while visiting the casino was fine. It's not a 5 star resort so don't expect those amenities. It was exactly what we were looking for. I would suggest bidding on a room rate at a site like price line. I was able to pay half of the asking price!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed at Holiday inn for a major concert at Mohegan Sun. Hotel advertised free shuttle to Mohegan and $25 food & free bet package. I was not told that there is only 1, 18 passenger van and that you sign up in order of check in. We arrived at 5 pm & was told the earliest van was at 8 pm. Had to take a taxi to Mohegan so we wouldn't miss concert and therefore didn't get the bonus package. Arrived back at hotel at midnight with about 20 other people and was told bar was "closed" even though there were people still sitting at bar. No manager on site at midnight. Hotel was clean and very close to Mohegan. Make sure you get there early if you want to to take shuttle to a concert. Next time I'll stay in New London and drive as Mohegan is only about 20 min. from ferry.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlygirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The hotel was recently remodeled (2 years ago?) and was in decent shape. However, the first room we got had dried up pee on the toilet. Then so did the second room. And the manager on duty then just wiped it off and said it was all good. We nicely asked for a third room, which was finely clean, but it just sort of put a damper on the stay. It seems like a simple thing that could be avoided.
Despite being remodeled, it just seemed older and not as nice as other three star hotels. The pool area was not redone.
We wanted to be close to Mohegan Sun and were told at booking that there was a shuttle that ran often. It turned out that it was only running twice that day. We were disappointed there as well.
While not a horrible stay, I don't think that we'll be staying here again with so many hotels in the area.
The breakfast (not free) was pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RR_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The hotel elevator smelled of vomit and rather than deal with it properly, it was sprayed with lysol. The non smoking rooms smelled heavily of stale smoke. The carpet had not been vacuumed and room service lost our order. For the amount charged, this was not good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norwich
Hampton Inn Norwich
#1 of 6 in Norwich
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: 10 Laura Blvd, Norwich, CT 06360-6429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $99 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for work or play, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Norwich is the perfect destination conveniently located off 1-395, exit 80 with spacious rooms and 8,000 sq.ft. of meeting space. Newly renovated guest rooms offer comfortable pillow top beds, HDTVs, microwave, refrigerators & free WiFi. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or re-energize in our fitness center. Dine in for lunch, dinner or to grab a drink in Scorzz Sports Bar & Grill. Scorzz also offers 13 HDTVs, pool tables, dart, shuffle board and other electronic games. With daily shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino only 3 miles away and close proximity to Foxwoods and Mystic plus several beaches, you will find that there’s plenty to do from playing by the seashore to testing your luck! *Daily complimentary shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino is available on a first come, first serve basis and must sign-up with the Front Desk at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing