We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Norwich
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohegan Sun(Uncasville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Norwich(Norwich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
107
107
61
25
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
107
61
25
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmohegan sunfree shuttlesports barhotel restaurantthe shuttle driveroff the highwaynext morningcoffee makerbeds were very comfortablea nice place to staythe room was nicefront desk staffstaff was very friendly and helpfulthe hotel offersattending a concertcasinomicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 335 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location to stay at and not pay the casino prices. The rooms have been done over since my last visit. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are a little small however they are nicely decorated. The sports bar/restaurant has great food and reasonably priced. And now they have weekend entertainment. A nice place to kick back and relax while it was snowing outside. Next time we visit we'll have to bring our bathing suits so we could enjoy the pool.

The staff was very helpful and courteous. Thanks for a great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiGi14216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

My team members and I appreciate your gracious comments. We look forward to your continued return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a good option if you are not willing or able to pay the rates at the casinos. We booked through Priceline and got an amazing deal during the Tip Off Classic weekend. The drive over is easy. Ask someone at the desk for directions without going onto the highway, although both routes are simple. There is also a complimentary shuttle that you can take, but you do need to reserve a space. You should get on the list as soon as you check in so you don't miss out. The hotel itself is newly renovated and it shows. However, the walls are paper thin and you can hear every noise from your neighbors, the hallways, outside, etc. Our bed was comfortable but the sleep was interupted often due to noise issues. Also, while very clean, the linens are not top quality. I would stay here again given the extremely low rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments they are greatly appreciated. I will look into the noise issue as we usually do not have an issue. We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here to enjoy the casinos. The stay are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and are fitted with everything you need. The best part of the hotel is the fee shuttle service to Mohegan Sun. Next time we visit the casinos, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments I will be sharing them with my team members. We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here last night and I feel compelled to write a review because people deserve a chance to be warned. First of all, the initial impression is nice. We stay at Holiday Inns and HIE's on a regular basis. I was happy to see that it was a newly updated one. At first glance everything looked great! Our room initially was perfect. And then I noticed that it looked like a painting or mirror that was above the desk had either been stolen, broken, or removed, yet there were still brackets on the wall where it had been previously. Weird, but not necessarily gross. Then I moseyed on into the bathroom and was disgusted to see that the toilet hadn't been cleaned in WEEKS at the very minimum. There was a gelatanous, brown substance (ahem) all around the toilet. It was so gross. I wanted to clean it, but there was no toilet brush. The best was yet to come! I sat on the bed and lo and behold, there's ANOTHER brown substance on the blanket. Are you kidding me!? I find it hard to believe that someone could have overlooked this while making the bed. It was extremely obvious. I would have complained and requested a room switch but we had plans to go to the Casino since it was New Years Eve. We were even more irritated when we found out that the next available shuttle to the casino wouldn't be for another TWO hours. The shuttle was the whole reason we stayed here....so that we wouldn't be drinking and driving. Whatever. This hotel is NOT up to Holiday Inn standards. It's deceiving and at first glance might looked "refreshed" but it is certainly not clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KillaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your concerns with us and are sincerely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are currently having an issue with hard water rust type stains and unfortunately it sounds like your room was one that has not yet been attended too. As for your other concerns, please be aware that we have taken the appropriate steps in our housekeeping department to ensure that issues are addressed at the inspection level to prevent future situations.
Again our most sincere apologies for your inconveniences during your recent stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn since it was close to Mohegan Sun where we were attending the recent Prince concert. The rate was fair... Easy check in... Free drink on arrival... Free shuttle to the casino.... Comfortable room...great beds and pillows. Called Down to get some food to go from the busy sports lounge and the food was packed up and ready as promised. No complaints would go back any time.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Generalmanager501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction surrounding your recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments and the staff always finds it rewarding to hear that a guest really enjoyed their experience! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews