We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy with maintenance issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife brought me here for a birthday trip to the casino. There was a funk to the carpets in the floor we stayed on but the room didn't look to bad at first. It had a fridge which is always a plus and it was in decent shape. As soon as we got there the toilet wouldn't flush. They sent someone up to fix it fairly quickly. The toilet stopped working again in the middle of the night. We found out in the morning that our friends who were also staying there had problems with their toilet as well. They were on a different floor. I'm not sure what is wrong with the plumbing there but it's not the type of problem you want to deal with on a night away. I mentioned it at the front desk when checking out and didn't even get an apology or really even an acknowledge it. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhollyHeretic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I have spoke with the chief engineer about the plumbing issues so that they may be addressed properly. We have also instructed our shuttle drivers to do periodic floors walks to prevent future hallway disturbances.
We strive to provide great guest experiences and when we fall short we value your comments so that we may correct the issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 329 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all, when I stay at a hotel, I'm not a guest, I'm a paying customer! This being said, I was a 'guest' at this hotel from Feb. 19-21 as I was moving from Mystic to another location in Connecticut. During the first night at the hotel, my brand new 2013 car was vandalized in the Holiday Inn parking lot. When I discovered the damages, I reported it immediately to the management. The security guard to pictures of the car & we filled in a report. There was over $3,889.39 worth of damages done to my car & Holiday Inn refuses to pay my deductible --- their argument is "you park at your own risk" and they are not liable!! My recommendation is to stay away from this Holiday Inn! You'll be staying at your own peril! Is this a good way to treat your 'guests'?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaMaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I truly apologize but we cannot be responsible for vehicles. Ahs this could have happened anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. Anna was very pleasant at the front desk and helpful. We asked for a room move and she happily moved us and even gave us drink coupons for having to move. Shuttle driver was great! We used the shuttle to commute to Mohegan. Awesome service that you offer! Loved the pool tables in the lounge and the fact that the bar stayed open until after 1:00 am. Breakfast was good but service wasn't great. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwsun12, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you Forrett for your review of your recent stay with. We appreciate all the comments that you left, and will make sure that the service in our breakfast restaurant WOWs you the next time you stay with us. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After booking a room at this hotel online, I was very disappointed when we arrived! I had asked for a non smoking room with a King sized bed. The non smoking part of the request was for me I am an asthmatic and can not tolerate smoke. The king sized part of the request was for my partner who is just about six feet and is more comfortable in a king sized bed. When we checked in we were given a smoking room and two queen sized beds. We told them that was not what we requested online and gave them our reasons for the request and were told thatthey werefull and that was the only room that they had. I commented to my partner while the clerk was checking us in that I hope the hospital is close in case I had an asthma attack. The clerk Ewa who I was not talking to said it's one exit away in a flippant way! We took our cards and went to the room and as soon as we opened the door we were smacked in the face with the odor of cigar smoke. We left the room and went to talk to the manager who told us she couldn't refund our money but she could ionize our room and that the process takes about a half hour, and we could not be in our room. She gave us each a free drink ticket for the bar. While we were standing there another group came to complain about the smoke smell in their room. So apparently this is a problem here. More than one room complained and they have an ionizer and know that it takes a half hour to ionize a room. We waited for our room to be ionized and when it was donr we went back in. The ionization process did not make a difference and upon examining our room further the carpets were badly stained all over and the overall cleanliness of the room was pitiful. Also the air conditioning heating unit made a loud hummimg noise and rattled. Their idea of a fix was to stuff cardboard in it! Needless to say their two drinks was not a suitable fix for us and we would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

I appologize that we could not accomodate you requests. After reviewing your reservation there were no additional comments requesting the king size bed or non-smoking room. Priceline reservations come over as what ever is available at the property. We always try to accomodate our guests upon arrival under these reservations. I am truely sorry that we could meet your requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for St Patty's weekend on a trip to Mohegan. We had originally booked two rooms at the casino for almost $400 a room and after looking around i found this hotel and we literally got two king suites on the 6th floor for less than the price of one standard room at the casino. The check-in / check out was great, Justin at the front desk was great! There is a free shuttle to take you to and from the casino. The indoor pool was nice and warm and breakfast was SUPER good (please tell the cooks they rock). The rooms were nice then we expected for a holiday inn, pillows were tagged with firm / soft, the entire hotel was very clean. The only odd thing there were the red fire ants that bite in the corner of our room which i did not notice until we were leaving, so needless to say they left us alone. All in all, very nice hotel with really great staff.

Room Tip: on the 6th floor, some of the rooms have balconies - try to get one if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandsdreamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your outstanding comments we try to give all our guests that special touch. We appreciate you patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday March 1st because Jasen Aldean was playing the rooms at Mohegan were a minimum of $450 and I could never afford to pay that and afford to eat or gamble. So I checked around for hotels with a shuttle that give military discounts. This hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were wonderful !!! We had no problem getting a shuttle to and from the casino and while we were waiting for friends to arrive we had a drink and appetizer at the restaurant . The food was good but average but the bartender was sweet and made a great drink. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: They have a good size refrigerator and a microwave in every room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our team members are committed to delivering great guest service. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A group of 5 of us decided to take a last minute trip to Mohegan Sun and needed somewhere reasonable to stay. The price was great for a last minute Saturday night. The shuttle was on time and very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and having the fridge was convenient. Check in took only a few minutes, and check out was even simpler. The staff allowed us to check out at noon instead of 11 am with no additional fee, because we stayed the Saturday into Sunday of "springing ahead" for daylight savings.
I would definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

It’s great when we can make your experience a memorable one. We love to exceed our guest’s expectations. Please come back and see our new look after June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norwich
Hampton Inn Norwich
#1 of 6 in Norwich
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: 10 Laura Blvd, Norwich, CT 06360-6429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $101 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for work or play, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Norwich is the perfect destination conveniently located off 1-395, exit 80 with spacious rooms and 8,000 sq.ft. of meeting space. Newly renovated guest rooms offer comfortable pillow top beds, HDTVs, microwave, refrigerators & free WiFi. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or re-energize in our fitness center. Dine in for lunch, dinner or to grab a drink in Scorzz Sports Bar & Grill. Scorzz also offers 13 HDTVs, pool tables, dart, shuffle board and other electronic games. With daily shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino only 3 miles away and close proximity to Foxwoods and Mystic plus several beaches, you will find that there’s plenty to do from playing by the seashore to testing your luck! *Daily complimentary shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino is available on a first come, first serve basis and must sign-up with the Front Desk at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing