We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, quiet and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are looking for a lot of bells and whistles, spend the $600 to stay at the nearby casino hotels. If you are looking for a clean, quiet, reasonably priced and centrally located hotel with a friendly staff while you are visiting Mohegan Sun, check out the Holiday Inn.

We recently spent 2 nights here during the infamous Blizzard for 2013 while in town for the Bon Jovi concert at Mohegan Sun. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. Check-in and check-out were quick and effortless. Our room was clean and spacious, beds were comfy, room contained a microwave, fridge and flat screen satelitte TV. The room stayed comfortably warm despite the terrible weather outside. The bathroom was on the small side and the drains were a bit slow, but it was clean and functional, which is all that mattered to us. The pool was closed for remodeling, which were were told when we booked.

The location was perfect, just 1 exit (about 5 miles) from Mohegan Sun. We had planned to use the complimentary shuttle, but given the weather conditions it was not running that night. However, driving to the casino was quick and easy, even post-blizzard.

All in all, very satisfied with our stay, will consider again when in the area and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Vending machines are on floors 2 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLee812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are beginning our remodel in April, so please come and experience our new look in June. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    90
    49
    23
    29
See reviews for
51
99
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Average, slightly dated Holiday Inn. Clean and quiet, which was all I needed. Pool was being remodeled, as indicated on their website, so wasn't available. I can imagine it gets loud on weekends given the proximity to the casinos.

Got it from the web for short money, so I have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rirockhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will be beginning a complete remodel in April. I hope you are willing to give us another try after the remodel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I would strongly advise that you stay somewhere else around Mohegan Sun Casino. Hallways smelled terribly, room was ok, but bathroom was very dirty... yellow stains that were easily cleanable in toilet bowl, clump of hair attached to the drain plug, stained shower liner that prevented slipping. And then my friends I woke up this morning to find out that his car had a window bashed in while parked in their lot. They made him wait over 45 minutes just to get him a plastic bag and tape. They were little to no help and really just wanted us to leave. Not safe to keep cars overnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We normally do not have these issues you described. I am sorry that you had a bad experience. I would like to speak to you about them as I was on property on Sunday and did not hear anything about the break in of your vehicle. Please feel free to contact me at (860)889-5201.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel I was expecting a poor showing but decided to stay here anyway since I'm a member of holiday inn's reward program. I must say I was very surprised. Check in was quick and friendly and the rooms were large with a comfortable bed and a balcony, mini fridge, microwave, and flatscreen television. There is a nice sports bar that has sunday ticket for NFL games, has free pool and darts and was serving up free food (hot dogs beans and baked ziti) which was awesome. They do run a shuttle service to Mohegan sun but it stopped at 1130 and that ride was filled due to people signing up. I found this a little annoying as I have stayed in a lot of hotels that offer round the clock shuttle service so you would think this would be the case at a hotel so close to a major casino and getting a cab at the casino was an hour long process. All in all it was a good experience and I would absolutley stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ares290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Norwich while we were visiting Mohegan Sun for a concert. The customer service was excellent. There was a snowstorm and the vans to the casino were running late, but they were very apologetic. The offered us free drink coupons to the sports bar for our inconvenience! That was above and beyond, seeing as they had no control over the weather. The van drivers were extremely friendly and did a great job driving in the blizzard conditions.

The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly as well.

The rooms were ok - the bedroom part was much better than the bathroom. The bathroom need a little closer inspection by the housekeeping supervisor! It looked clean "enough" but to a trained eye (I used to be a housekeeping supervisor) there were some serious issues. Not so clean corners, unclean grout, inside of the bathroom door had fingerprints. All housekeepers should be required to sit on the toilet and glance around the bathroom when they think they are done cleaning and see the room from the view that most guests see it from.

For example in this bathroom there was a layer of black "stuff" at the top of the sink under where it met the countertop and you couldn't really see it from above, but when sitting on the toilet you could and it was gross. I checked with a tissue and it was cleanable.

Overall it wasn't a bad stay at all. The excellent staff made it a bit easier to overlook the cleaning details. In general it's a nice enough hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I will pass this information on to my housekeeping team members as your comfort, safety and cleanliness are our primary goals. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here while visiting for Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel is basically clean with the exception of the carpet in the room. It has definitely seen better days. Staff is friendly - rates are good - free coffee in the lobby in the morning. Nice tough. We would stay here again on future visits.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We appreciate your comments. We will be undergoing renovations the first part of 2013. I look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's price and vicinity to Mohegan Sun. They offer a shuttle from noon to 2am back and forth on a schedule to the casino which is a great feature in the hotel. However if you want to drive to the casino it's super easy and parking at Mohegan was free. There is a bar at the hotel and a nice lobby. The internet is free which was great, but it had a weak signal while online for a few hours. Overall this is a perfect hotel for those who want to be close to the casino but don't want to pay the casino price.

Room Tip: 6th Floor has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It's always great to get feedback from our guests. I will check the internet signal as usually we do not have an issue with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Norwich
Courtyard Norwich
#4 of 5 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Norwich Hotel
The Norwich Hotel
#3 of 5 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: 10 Laura Blvd, Norwich, CT 06360-6429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for work or play, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Norwich is the perfect destination conveniently located off 1-395, exit 80 with spacious rooms and 8,000 sq.ft. of meeting space. Newly renovated guest rooms offer comfortable pillow top beds, HDTVs, microwave, refrigerators & free WiFi. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or re-energize in our fitness center. Dine in for lunch, dinner or to grab a drink in Scorzz Sports Bar & Grill. Scorzz also offers 13 HDTVs, pool tables, dart, shuffle board and other electronic games. With daily shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino only 3 miles away and close proximity to Foxwoods and Mystic plus several beaches, you will find that there’s plenty to do from playing by the seashore to testing your luck! *Daily complimentary shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino is available on a first come, first serve basis and must sign-up with the Front Desk at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing