We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast, not for dinner”

Olde Tymes Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 115 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family Style restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. Reservations can be made for family groups on holidays. Upstairs dining area can be reserved for business meetings and smaller gatherings. Option to order from the menu or from the catering menu choices.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast, not for dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Breakfast is standard and inexpensive, your usual offerings of meats, eggs, breads, etc. We visit once every few months or so. However, also made the mistake of trying dinner at Olde Tymes and I'm not sure why they bother. Not their strong point and they clearly don't do a lot of business past the early bird special crowd...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ok Breakfast . Needs to be updated. Extensive menu but I am just not sure that everything tastes as fresh as it should . Certainly good for the occasional visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, pleasant staff and no wait!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff at the Courtyard Marriott in Norwich recommended this restaurant and we were pleased with their recommendation. We walked in and were seated immediately. Waitress (I did not get her name) was extremely pleasant and service was fast. We had breakfast here and everyone in our group was pleased with their choice. Overall, worth coming back to.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank soxluvr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“homey”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great menu, food was excellent, very nice people. We had a late breakfast, was seated an waited on promptly by a very nice staff. Very charming homestyle place. Will return again on our next visit to this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint place.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If your looking for down home cooking and and old time atmosphere then this is your place. The portions are good and so is the food, The wait staff have all been around forever and are just the best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Tymes Restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Olde Tymes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing