We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast, Dinner Not So Much”

Olde Tymes Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 114 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family Style restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. Reservations can be made for family groups on holidays. Upstairs dining area can be reserved for business meetings and smaller gatherings. Option to order from the menu or from the catering menu choices.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast, Dinner Not So Much”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The breakfasts here are excellent. I love the banana, nut, coconut pancakes but my husband is finicky about breakfast sausage and he loves it here. We usually get an egg platter. The prices are very fair. Even though the place is large, you might still have a wait during peak times. We've eaten breakfast there many times.

We ate dinner there a couple of times and were not impressed. The food was a fair price, but very mediocre.

The service is really excellent which helps turning the tables with the large breakfast crowds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDCprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    24
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it once was”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It used to be the best restaurant in Norwich - but over the years that has changed dramatically. When I was last there - it needed a real good cleaning - and I'd be afraid to see the kitchen. Maybe they've cleaned up?

Helpful?
1 Thank Canyondaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ledyard
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good comfort food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have never been disappointed with our meals at Olde Tymes. The cinnamon french toast is excellent as are some of the specials. Some of the veggies taste like canned, but the prices are good and the atmosphere is quaint. The service is friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jessie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been to Old Tymes a few times before as a teenager for dinner and breakfast. My home fries and omelette were cold and my toast HARD AS ROCKS, omelette was a pile of mush! the waitstaff were friendly and heated up my food brought me fresh toast but it was bland tasting. The restaurant was dark, dreary, and seating was cramped. Looks like old barn and the restaurant is kind of dirty too. Needs renovation badly! I went for dinner one time and it wasn't much better than breakfast; my fish and chips came out tough and greasy and coke tasted like baking soda in water ewwwww never again! They don't know how to cook food. Comes out cold bland greasy hard as rocks or mushy. Im surprised that place is still in business. The atmosphere is dark and cheerless.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I happened to driving by the area and looked for a lunch place. Scanned through the GPS and liked the name so we went there. What we ended up with was great friendly and attentive service, an extensive menu to please any palate, nice portion,tasty food and extremely reasonable prices. The only negative is it's not closer to home. If it was I'd be a regular there.I had one of there special burgers cooked to order (extra rare and home fries very well done) and my wife had a tasty spinach and cheese omelette. About 2 minutes after the food arrived our waitress returned to make sure everything okay. If we were ever in the area again it would be our first choice for a meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ron2putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Tymes Restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Olde Tymes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing