We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good all around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Illiano's Grill

Illiano's Grill
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Illiano's Grill located in Yantic Connecticut. We have been serving up authentic southern Italian cuisine since we first opened our doors in 1997. We pride ourselves in using the best ingredients, whether it is high quality mozzarella to top our thin crust brick oven pizzas or fresh seafood to make our customer favorites like flounder Florentine. We know the importance of fresh foods and promise to never compromise. Illiano's Grill also offers a full catering menu. For your next event, sit back, relax, and leave the cooking to the pros. Available for Take Out and for on-site private parties and special events. If you are looking for a comfortable relaxed setting to have dinner out, look no further than our dining room. The hand painted pictures by Paul Illiano hanging on the walls and Italian music in the background will be sure to have you feeling like part of our family before the appetizers arrive. All of our dishes are made to order and our menu is sure to please everyone in the family, from pizza to pasta, fresh salads and soups to gourmet Italian classics.
Willington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Four of us went here tonight. The beer was cold ( a make or break for me) and the bread was fantastic. Tortellini soup was ok, and steak pizzaiola was very good. My wife had Flounder Florentine and she said it was excellent. The waiter was attentive and the restaurant is clean, and well lit. It's a little pricey, but not real bad. Friends say their pizza is good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
246 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had two salads and two pasta meals. The minestrone was watery and not substantial. The cobb salad was served with slices of bacon which appeared more appropriate for a warming tray at a brunch than on a salad. The baked ziti was ok but certainly nothing special. Similarly, the other meals were average. Service staff was attentive. Good location to get some food near Dodd Stadium but the food is average at bet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerandnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Friendly and serves a purpose but no more than average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Seems something of a local favourite on a Friday night and as a consequence was very busy when we visited. Despite this we were seated quickly, albeit at a slightly 'sticky' table, where private conversation was all but impossible given the close proximity of the fixed tables all seemingly aimed at accommodating two or four people. Our waiter tried hard and was very amiable and attentive if not completely adept at keeping our food on the plate. The portions were generous though they would certainly have benefitted from being hotter and left something to be desired in terms of both taste and presentation. Kind of like an eighties 'Little Chef' serving make believe Italian food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MandM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Lived around the corner for about 6years now never have had anythin other then pizza . Well ordered the pasta bolganase, Not kidding I thought they forgot to put any meat in the sauce. I was able to scrounge up a scant tablespoon full . Alfredo sauce was etable. My 2 year old nephew spit out his meatball so I tasted it hard pre frozen tuck don't blame him . Chicken parm again microwaved precooked. I wanted to call and complain but I decided it will be a pizza only place Nd that if nothing else is open . I have been to other Illianos this is by far the worst.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Dissappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was there for dinner last night-usually use take out. Ordered soup and french fries-comfort food-the soup was supposed to be squash soup-it was chunks of butternut squash thrown in the same base as pasta fagioli soup. It was cold and so were the fries. Was seated with a baby near the kitchen. Everytime I got up to help the baby in his highchair I was asked to move so the waiters and waitresses could get by. Poor placement and poor food. We felt run over and the baby started to cry-usually he loves restaurants and is happy anywhere. I think it was because it was so hectic where we were. I think I will stick to take out. Nice waitress though-she was trying real hard.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illiano's Grill also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Illiano's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing