We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its a restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Caddy Shack Cafe

Caddy Shack Cafe
Ranked #12 of 113 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakdale, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
335 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“its a restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Yes, another restaurant. Food is good and priced well for what you get. Never had a problem, but not on my go to list.

Helpful?
1 Thank userChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
265 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Go for the Soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Caddy Shack is one of the few places in Norwich that continues to get better over time. The menu has improved a great deal over the last 5 years. They used to close for the winter but I believe they are now open year round.
The soup of the day is always very good and the clear chowder (Fridays only) is one of the best around. The rueben is really good and there are 3-4 different types. When its over 50 and sunny definitely sit out on the terrace.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oakdale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've been to Caddyshack 3 times with my best friend, and I've always had a great experience with them. The food is delicious, the waitstaff were polite and efficient, and the restaurant is clean and decorated nicely. The food and cocktails prices are decent and most of all I love the outdoor patio overlooking the Norwich golf course. They also have awesome daily specials on food and cocktails.I dined on the patio in early July and it was such a lovely dining experience. While I had lunch and cocktails with my best friend on the patio, we had a great view of golfers playing golf and some squirrels running around. I loved the patio the best during the warmer season. I'd recommend caddyshack to all my friends and family. Great for celebrations, happy hours, get togethers with loved ones. I never had complaints about caddyshack.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Tucked away at the Norwich Golf Course is a delightful restaurant overlooking the greens with an outdoor balcony to boot. We had fish and chips, which was probably the best fish we had had in ages in a wonderful beer batter. Should have opted for the one piece portion, since the portions were huge. Liver and onions also great, if that is your thing, as it was for one of us. I think the locals like to keep this place secret! I think that dining outdoors really made the meal. The indoor area is dark and crowded, but the view from the balcony was just delightful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
202 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

A sports bar with great food, friendly service. Really wonderful mashed potatoes with delicious gravy, carrots that were actually cooked, and not blanched, fresh scallops, I could go on. Beware the portion sizes. Two of us could have shared one entree and a salad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caddy Shack Cafe also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Caddy Shack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing