We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best calzone I've had!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Engine 6 Pizza CO

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Engine 6 Pizza CO
195 W Thames St, Norwich, CT 06360-6838
(860) 887-3887
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
317 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best calzone I've had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I went here last night and tried the Pumper calzone (hamburger, pepperoni, sausage, bacon).. it was amazing, best I have had in a long time! They put tons of meat and cheese in there, so every bite was tasty, not just bread with no filling. The dough was baked to perfection as well, and they gave us a nice sauce to dip it in. I could eat another one now, it was that good! We also got a plain cheese pizza, which is very good as well. They have a nice medium crust, not greasy, and their sauce has a good flavor, which is think the combo of those two is what makes a pizza. I would have liked a little more cheese on that, just because I tend to OD on cheese, but I would eat it again no problem.

The service is incredibly friendly as well, they checked on us several times, and it is BYOB, so if you feel like eating there, that's a plus as well, although it looks like most of their orders are take out. The inside is not huge, but it has it's charm with the firehouse memorabilia. Regardless we will be eating here or taking out again. Two big thumbs up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten Free clazones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Found this place online while at foxwoods. This place has a wonderful staff that is knowledgeable on their gluten free products and didnt taste bad either. If they can do it right others need to try harder. Very pleasant staff and cool story to the place too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Takeout one night, Great Pizza !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

did not dine in , had takeout ... very friendly staff .. will surely go back, gotta try it , we had the all meat pizza .. cooked to perfection

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Alternative for Area Visitors on a Budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While planning a day trip to the nearby Pequot Museum, I discovered a coupon for Engine 6 Pizza Company, so we decided to give it a try. It turned out to be a good choice.

My dining companion orderd pasta and I had a calzone. Both dishes were competently prepared a very reasonably priced, even before our coupon. Service was quick and friendly and the décor, as you might imagine revolved around the firehouse theme.

If I lived in the Norwich area, I would not hesitate to make this a "go-to" place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food...most of the time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We live very nearby and order from here quite often. 9 times out of 10, the food is great. They are unfortunately a little inconsistent. However, they are great about special orders....such as my no-this or that, extra this or that, with just a little this or that Salad! Great pieces too....sign up for their text specials and Get great deals 2-3 times a week

Helpful?
Thank Mkb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engine 6 Pizza CO also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Engine 6 Pizza CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing