We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fat Cat pub”

Fat Cat Grill and Bar
Ranked #22 of 114 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: "Fairly new restaurant next to Surplus Unlimited".
Restaurant details
Description: "Fairly new restaurant next to Surplus Unlimited".
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Fat Cat pub”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

One of the best pubs in the country for 'real ale' fans. Multiple winner of CAMRA National Best Pub award. Also has sister pub 'Fat Cat Brewery Tap' with micro brewery and live music.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Washed off chicken...”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Ordered the Buffalo chicken panini and it came out BBQ. The waiter was awesome and brought it right back to get it fixed, came out and refilled my beverage. About 5 minutes later it came out. I went to pick it up and it was soggy. I tasted the chicken and it was cold and wet. I'm almost positive they rinsed the BBQ sauce off and then dipped the chicken in Buffalo. When the waiter came out to check on us, he saw how awful it looked and said and I quote, "Wow. That does not look right." Needless to say I didn't want a new one...
The sweet potato fries were great but I will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatfooddetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Eatery”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Good food, great staff. Nice place for family, friends, or just hanging out. Glad to see a good place in Norwich finally open up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Love it! The mediterranean sandwich is phenomenal! The homemade garlic dressing is so yummy! The tiramisu wasnt very good though, not the real deal. My friends & I think Erik the bartender is great! Very friendly & excellent service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rapunzelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No reason to go back”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Unfortunately because there are many Pizza places to go to, maybe my expectations were too high. Walking in you pass the bar, which looks quite nice and I noticed some tables around the bar area where one could eat. The main eating area, however, is behind the bar and we found it rather close. You could say they have maximized the use of their small space.

It was a busy night and perhaps that affected the service, as it was rather slow and the food was unremarkable. We loved the Olympic Pizza, which this Fat Cat's replaced, but it does not come up to the variety and or tastiness of food.

Don't think we will return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickles6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Cat Grill and Bar also viewed

 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Fat Cat Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing