We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful if you play to its strengths”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spa at Norwich Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I have been to The Spa at Norwich Inn 16 or 17 times, mostly with one of my best friends from college. We return because we know what the spa does well and what works for us. The location is great because I come from the Boston area (1 1/2 hour drive) and she can take the train from NYC.

The staff are fantastic - friendly, accommodating, helpful. We know several by name and greet each other like old friends everytime we arrive.

The best features of the Spa and Inn are the massages, the facials, the exercise classes, and the convenience of staying at the Inn so you can meander in your robe all day if desired.

The food varies, and the vegetarian options for dinner this time around were an embarrassment to the chef. In fact, with the exception of breakfast, vegetarian offerings leave much to be desired. Other food offerings were fine. Vegetarian soup was good. We often like to make a dinner of three appetizers.

The inn is adequate. We get a room with 2 double beds, of which there are only 6 at the inn. Hard to get the temperature comfortable, so we go with a little too cold for better sleeping than too warm. The room was clean and well cared for during our stay.

To avoid: pedicures, manicures are overpriced and in the past haven't lasted that long.

Lastly, sometimes the management gets caught up in the rules too much for fear of someone bilking them on the packages they offer. We had a package which included a three-course dinner, but had to change it because they insisted that one of the courses be a dessert. We were there to eat healthy, and not interested in dessert. They were inflexible, fearing that the world would order endless lobster appetizers and they'd lose money. Get with the picture, and see the forest through the trees! If you had that many people ordering lobster appetizers on a package deal, the inn would be full and you'd be raking it in on everything else!

The staff were wonderful about the issue, however, and we were able to switch out of the package and order whatever we wanted for dinner. In the end, the cost was comparable so not great loss.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 586 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

Whether staying at the Norwich Inn or not, you must make it a point to visit the Spa at Norwich Inn. Every time I'm in CT, I make sure my trip includes a day or two at the Spa. Every service is better than the next and each technician outdoes the former. The Spa is located on the backside of the Norwich Inn in its own tranquil seclusion. Come early and stay late. With a fitness room, pools (indoor and outdoor during the summer months), sundecks, relaxation room, and all the amenities you come to expect (sauna, steam, hot tub...), as well as various activities throughout the say including an afternoon tea and wine tasting, you will not want to leave! Trust me, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winterbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've stayed for one night at bungalow on my way home from Mohegan Sun casino. Was thinking just to stay for a night but after morning walk around the property decided to stay for the whole day for spa service. It was smart decision. The spa is great and people are just fantastic. Hotel stuff is very friendly and helpful too. Will definitely come back soon with my wife for spa and golf weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Went for a Spa Weekend with my S-I-L, the first time we have done so.

Firstly, I must say that everyone associated with this place must have been sprinkled with "wonderful" dust - friendly, service-oriented, couldn't do more staff everywhere without exception.

Secondly, I must also say that this is an expensive sojourn; even with the weekend package, everything is an add-on except for tea & scones in the afternoon. Nonetheless, S-I-L and I intend to make this an annual event. There was a wedding on the day we arrived, so we were "relegated" to a villa, which was the last remaining vacancy; apart from being some distance from the main house, this "relegation" was fine - a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen, living room, bedroom and a deck. The bathroom was far from luxurious, but the shower was great and the beds, although also not luxurious, provided a good night's sleep. There were TVs in the living room and bedroom, neither of which were up-to-date flat screen, but that didn't bother us either. The villas are far from the main house, but a simple phone call had Fred or Robert driving over to pick us up, and drop us off.

We signed up for two water-aerobics classes each; I was sorry the belly dancing class was at the same time, because that looked like FUN! I opted for aromatherapy (which is not a massage, but lymphatic drainage) and a pedicure, both of which were so delightful as to be decadent; S-I-L opted for hot stone massage and felt similarly about her treatment. There is a "juice bar" at the spa for light fare, such as frozen yogurt, salads, wraps, etc.

We ate a first class dinner in Kensington's restaurant, which was accompanied by Pat on the piano who sang standards - most enjoyable. Prices were comparable to any nice restaurant. The breakfast buffet the next morning was likewise very classy.

The weekend package includes a credit toward spa treatments (sufficient to cover one treatment really) and a food credit (which could cover dinner if you don't drink). However, all spa treatments/classes have gratuities and service charges added (no problem there) but the gratuities and service charges are then taxed. If your package is listed as $300, expect your bill to run $400, each. The clientele runs the gamut from young to old, couples and mommy groups, a lot of pregnant women with and without spouses, most of whom were friendly folk. One exception only, a woman who threatened to get everyone fired. There's always one:(

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstraveler450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Spent a couple of days visiting the spa with my sister. We did a spa overnight package and stayed in a villa. I highly recommend the villas, they are spacious, clean and private. The spa was amazing and we had the best messages and facials ever! Everyone was helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, take time to wander around them.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The services, and personnel at The Norwich Inn and Spa are terrific. You feel most welcome from the intial contact to the checkout. The rooms in the Villas are a little outdated compaired to those in the main building; but they are larger and have kitchen and a sitting area. (If you don't enjoy very firm pillows bring your own.)

The main facility is pleasantly appointed and the Spa is "first rate". The massages and facials are wonderful. The excercise instructors adapt to individual needs. There are several dining areas and the food is way above average. Always try the complimentary tea and scones and wine and cheese during the afternoon.
My friends and I are making this an 'annual' birthday treat .
I recommend the Inn without reservation. SWG NYC

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Behind a tall hedge, you find a colonial brick inn surrounded with beautiful flowering trees and shrubs and secluded terraces. Through the welcoming front door, you find a classy inn staffed with helpful and kind staff. You also find many guests casually wandering in a relaxed daze with white robes and black flip flops. You arrive in a stressed state, but after leisurely indulging in amazing spa treatments and delicious meals, you leave in a totally relaxed state.

I spent a couple days here with a friend and was totally impressed with the quality of the treatments, the staff, and the food. There is no arrogance or pretentious attitude here - just dedication to quality and relaxation for the guest. The restaurant offers delicious and nutritious meals. I liked the fact the restaurant has a full bar with great wines, and I could relax with a glass of wine between treatments.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancingQueen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
20.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,450 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa at Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa at Norwich Inn

Address: 607 W Thames St, Norwich, CT 06360-7139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $206 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa at Norwich Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote the ultimate in relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Spa at Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa At Norwich Hotel Norwich
Spa Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing