We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place --but check your bill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa at Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spa at Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
1 review
“Great place --but check your bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed two days/one night with a girlfriend using a TravelZoo certificate. The place is really nice--beautiful grounds, nice rooms and a great spa. But my bill had to be done three time to get it right, so be sure to double check yours. Note that the gratuity is automatically added! The specials that include lunch are the best deal--it's a really nice lunch! Also, when making a reservation, the people on the phone tend to be very businesslike--not warm and friendly at all, so that could be improved.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deena Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    105
    62
    44
    36
See reviews for
78
125
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We reserved and stayed at two rooms at the Inn this past weekend. Both were seriously dated and in need of major updating. The front doors were rusting, the carpet ancient, the bed flannel blankets were old, scratchy and appeared to have not been changed for our arrival. The rooms had a strong mildew smell. The tub area was full of rusted spots and old, stained shower curtains. One of our rooms had a used, open bar of soap in the bathroom soap dish. The other had 6 cigarette butts lined up on the deck rail that our kids ceremoniously found! Although non-smoking was requested, one of the rooms smelled of cigarette smoke. The lobby/common area looked equally as old, dated and grimy. The Inn is in a great location and the main building and "villas" have lots of potential but until this place receives a major update that's all it is; Potential without the substance to back it up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn last December 29 through January 1, 2013. It was the perfect place for a babymoon. If there is one word I could use to describe the Inn, it would be COZY! We didn't leave the Inn all weekend and walked around in robes most of the time.

We had such a great experience. I don't know if there is anything I would ask for differently. The comfort, food and spa services were amazing. It was great to see the whole place decked out in holiday decorations. The Inn had a New Years celebration with champagne in the lobby (I didn't go- we were falling asleep in the room at 10). I definitely recommend this!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibbluesNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
320 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we booked last minute on Expedia; a villa for 2 with king bed, kitchen, bath, etc. These "villas" are rental or time share properties detached from the Inn but within walking distance. They are dated, our first room was musty, door jams rusty and carpets stained. While we were inspecting the room a realtor entered who was getting ready to show the place. This was not acceptable so the front dest gave us another villa closer to the main building and in better shape. This villa had a view of the golf course and was in better shape but still had stains on the carpet, a bathroom door that was so stuck it was hard to get in and out of. the furniture looks like it was from the late 80's or 90's and could use some sprucing up. The bed was big, high and comfortable for an overnight and we did get a good night's sleep in this quiet location. for a nominal fee you have daily use of spa, pool, fitness room which was worth it!!!!! i didn't have any treatments; there was a huge wedding that night and we did book our room last minute but the services are very expensive $65 for a manicure without tip. but everyone looks happy to be there and the grounds are lovely. the wedding looked beautiful and the festivities did not interfere with our stay. The Staff is EXCELLENT and can not make you more comfortable. they are on top of everything. there is a list of activities that you can option and afternoon tea and scones, wine tasting, nutrition classes are free but you have to pay for exercise classes

Room Tip: If you book a villa, try to get one closer to the main building. We were in the 400's. Ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The spa at Norwich Inn has the most relaxing atmosphere and friendliest helpful staff. I've never been disappointed with the spa, the staff or the restaurant. I live in the area and visit the spa as often as possible. My husband purchases gift cards to give me at the holidays and it is my favorite present!!

Prices for the spa and treatments are in line with the service you receive.

There have been recent renovations to the indoor pool area and they've added more outdoor sitting areas with chaise lounges and umbrellaed tables and chairs. You can enjoy the sun even on a cooler day.

Because I live nearby, I've never needed to stay overnight so I have no knowledge of the accomodations, and although the place is "old" I can't imagine that they'd not keep it up to date.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I love this inn and have stayed in the main inn and the villas. The villas are private and spacious but you do have to walk or drive to the main inn for meals, spa, cocktail...... so depending on the weather and your preferences, this is nice option. Travel Sunday Thursday and ASK for any discounts or specials / upgrades. Convenient to casinos but so opposite so nice to go back somewhere quiet after noisy, smoky casino.

Food amazing and wonderful martinis!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Inn. Keep in mind that this has been an Inn since 1929. It is both historic and lovely. We had a mini suite with very nice furniture. There was a living room area with a TV and a bedroom with a king sized bed and another TV. The bathroom was large and very clean. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The meals were delicious. My compliments to Chef Justin. The spa area was well equipped, clean and offers a full range of services. Thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. In addition there is a large exercise room, yoga and Zumba classes and both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. I look forward to my next visit to the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matunuckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
0.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
20.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
7.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa at Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa at Norwich Inn

Property: The Spa at Norwich Inn
Address: 607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa at Norwich Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote the ultimate in relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Spa at Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa At Norwich Hotel Norwich
Spa Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing