We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite sushi place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahzu Sushi Bar & Restaurant

Mahzu Sushi Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I love this place for their mix of different rolls, always good always fresh. Staff is always pleasant. They will make anything you request and I love the fried ice cream, a must have every time I go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anjie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent sushi ... reasonable prices ... not a very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

the sushi is as good as any restaurant in the county ... the prices are very reasonable ... the location leaves something to be desired ... well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut
1 review
“Best-kept secret in SE Connecticut!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The drinks are good, the staff is friendly, the portions are enormous, the sushi is to die for! If you haven't tried this restaurant yet, it's probably because you didn't see it, tucked around the corner from the entrance at ShopRite. This place is a true gem! I've never had something there that I didn't love!

And here's the kicker - they really care about their diners. No, really. I have to eat gluten free, so I brought in my own soy sauce a lot. Now they've begun to buy and keep bottles of my brand of soy sauce in-house so I don't have to bring my own anymore! Talk about above and beyond, these folks are amazing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starsong07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for Norwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Mahzu has great drinks! I come here weekly with family and really love the Shrimp Tempura roll, perfect warm shrimp and cold where it's supposed to be. Always satisfied when I come here! The service is a bit slow but good sushi for Norwich CT!

Helpful?
Thank Chantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went down hill! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Sushi was fishy as well as the service! This place used to be great and had amazing service. The last few times have been so so sushi and poor attitude of the servers. I will not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahzu Sushi Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Mahzu Sushi Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing