We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chinese take out in Norwalk”
Review of Shanghai Gourmet

Shanghai Gourmet
Ranked #218 of 396 Restaurants in Norwalk
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best chinese take out in Norwalk”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've tried several take-out places and our old reliable ones have become disappointments. Shanghai Gourmet is still on top when it comes to quality take-out. You can eat in as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy2010Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food / Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really really nice place and outstanding food! Glad we decided to grab a late lunch here! Enjoyed the vegetable fried rice and the vegetable paad thai! Would definitely go again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Greesy...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a stereotypical takeout chinese food place with overly greesy food. I was hoping to find a solid restaurant that I could call my go-to place, but was so disappointed. We decided to eat in the small restaurant, which was a mistake. I didn't have much expectations and it still didn't meet them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Asian Cuisine in Norwalk -top 10 anywhere”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Newcomer to Norwalk. Have tried all the Asian restaurants and this is far and away the best. Very few tables and small space but for take out it can't be beat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food! - Small Seating Area”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Shangai Gourmet is one of the hidden treasures in Norwalk. Within the last year I have taken friends to eat there for lunch and everyone has raved over the wonderful tasty food. This seems to be a family owned restaurant, mainly take-out, but has a few tables. Asian Fusion food, very good selection, especially the szechuah choices. Love this place for lunch with friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorwalkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing