We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manager left my door open!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Reviewed November 29, 2012

First of all, paying $105 a night for a distinctly average room was not ideal. Secondly, after having my room searched for alcohol (even though I am over 21 and had none there), the MANAGER left my room open....can you believe this?!

ANYONE could have walked in and stolen by expensive belongings. This is pathetic...

Finally, I was not even offered a refund or discount. Utterly disgusted by the customer service on this matter and the manager was AWFUL, extremely unhelpful, and rude!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harveer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton. We are disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your recent experience. Precautions were taken based on the specific situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 914 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stinky room, look dirty, feel dirty ... ARE dirty. Smell in hallways. Dirty linens (REALLY) Broken closet doors. Noisy A/Cs/heaters which do not hold selected temperature - just run amok. Overpriced mediocre food in restaurant. Bar server is a living dead - nothing is getting done. Internet is getting disconnected/hanging up all the time.
I AM really trying to find ANYTHING positive .. oh - close to Costco so you can get sandwiches there at a price you afford to lose - there are NO refrigerators in roomS!!! Have NEVER ever been in hotel with no fridges- never and I travel a lot for business.
Gym ... jeez - it sticks of chlorine and it is so deep in the basement that no normal person will enjoy using it. Overall - (even if you will not be eaten alive by bad bugs) - STAY THE HELL AWAY AT ANY PRICE - place is a DUMP!

Don't get tricked by all these cheesy "my husband and I stayed", "we stayed for medical treatment of my son" etc reviews - there are fakes - no normal reviewer would be dumb enough to add such details to hotel review.
Cheers

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

It's disappointing to hear your experience was less than perfect. Thank you for letting us know where improvement is needed. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service. We appreciate your business and hope that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Arrived later on a cold evening to a warm lobby, nice staff, and a pot of hot apple cider! After that, all good. Room was decorated nice with newer furniture. Enjoyed the quaint bar. Didn't eat at restaurant, but it smelled good and had a decent sized crowd.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieseldave9895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

At Doubletree by Hilton, it's the little things that mean everything. Like warm apple cider on a cold day. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to be of service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My teenage daughter and I joined my husband when he was working in Westport CT
He stays at this hotel quite regularly, we had not been before. Reception staff were really nice
housekeeping great, called us as soon as we got in the room to make sure we had everything we needed. Rooms are comfortable, good beds, clean. One of the elevators has a life of its
own and always takes a trip to the basement betore heading up from the ground level!!!!
I used the gym and it was well equipped, no cold water station, but bottles of not so cold
water provided.
Breakfast buffet very good, with an omelette station. Service in the restaurant varied daily depending upon the staff, some were very attentive, others gave the impression they were not too bothered.
The location is wonderful, the train station for New York just over a mile away and the hotel
provides a regular shuttle.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was good value for what we paid. ($85 special rate for the company my husband works for)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

It's great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Doubletree Norwalk. We hope your family will be able to stay with us again when your travel plans bring you to Westport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fast, good check-in. good location off of the freeway. Close to a lot of restaurants. this is a good hotel if you are going to be in the Norwalk area. Rooms are clean and well appointed. No road noise.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

It's great to hear you enjoyed your recent experience at the Doubletree! We appreciate the opportuity to be of service and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Doubletree Hotel Norwalk, CT is a standout Doubletree because of its service, free shuttle bus and proximity to NYC. A great place to stay for day trips to NYC, for business or on your way north to other New England states. The staff are friendly, helpful and courteous, the pool and gym are excellent, the breakfast is very good and in the evening the restaurant provides a good selection of food. We have stayed there each year for over 10 years while visiting family. This year we were there twice, and the second time stayed for over two weeks. The staff could not have been more helpful. The hot chocolate chip cookies are a great way to welcome guests. Parking is free and plentiful. It is a popular place for weddings and business conferences. We will go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The double queen rooms on upper floors are better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are pleased that you found the hotels location to be a nice alternative to NYC. With complimentary local shuttle service and access to the city via Metro North train from Darien station, the hotels location is ideal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stay at this hotel every week for week. Each week the rooms are always clean, the staff is always friendly and when I order from their Safari restaurant the food is very good. A bit pricy for room service, but resonable when you go downstairs. During the summer my kids really enjoy the pool, I just wish they had a hot tub for dad :). Anyways if your in the area this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms I stay in are all pretty much the same. All are good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymarshall5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

It's great to hear you enjoy the Doubletree by Hilton as a regular guest. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
4.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
427 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 12 in Norwalk
338 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk

Address: 789 Connecticut Avenue, Norwalk, CT 06854-1615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#6 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range: $125 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your stay at our Norwalk hotel with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy the convenience of our proximity to local attractions such as the Maritime Aquarium, Stepping Stones Museum and the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion. Our hotel in Norwalk, CT is just 30 minutes from Westchester County Airport. Be sure to plan ahead for the Norwalk Oyster Festival and book your stay for Labor Day weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree - Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing