We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking Encouraged and Unavoidable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Cheshire, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smoking Encouraged and Unavoidable”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I would not recommend bidding in the Norwalk area with Priceline name your own price. Perhaps the Doubletree is more cordial to guests booking through their website directly, but my room was not cleaned when I arrived and the smell of smoke was overbearing. It took hours to get a "smoke machine" to overcome the smell and the machine was only briefly provided and did not rectify the situation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You may review other similar reviews on priceline as well. Also, the fact that I bid at a discounted price and received a low quality room seems to indicate that no one should pay full price to stay at this location.

Room Tip: The location can be hard to get into or out of if you are across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
The Doubletree by Hilton offers 265 well-appointed rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen Beds. The Public areas and majority of our guestrooms are nonsmoking. The hotel offers a small number of designated smoking rooms for those who prefer this option. Guests who book with the hotel directly are able to book specific room types including smoking preference and bed type. For those who book thru Priceline’s Name your Own price, as indicated at the time of booking, reservation requests for bed types or other special needs (including preferences for smoking or non-smoking rooms) cannot be guaranteed. This flexibility in accepting any available room at the hotel is offered, in exchange for a significant discount. The Doubletree by Hilton values the comfort of all our guests. For those with specific preferences, we recommend booking with the hotel directly and confirming your preferences at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    272
    155
    93
    48
See reviews for
308
139
65
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Winola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was looking for a hotel that I could spend some quality time with my daughter and grandsons. This hotel was outstanding in so many ways. First of all the friendly welcome, the delicious cookies, and the beautiful clean rooms. I reserved two rooms and they were both very nicely decorated and clean. My husband kept saying how comfortable the bed was. The pool provided hours of fun for my husband and grandsons. The coffee the next morning in the lobby was excellent. Thank you for the great memories that were made here. I will definitely recommend this place and will be coming here again.

Room Tip: I know that the rooms on the sixth floor were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Lots of our guests enjoy our beautiful indoor pool. How nice to hear of the wonderful memories that were created for your family. We can't wait to be part of it all again when we welcome you back with another one of those wonderful, warm chocolate chip cookies. Big kids, and little kids alike, everyone loves 'em. We hope you'll come back for more real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice beds, big room. Hot cookie when you check in. Nice after long drive . Convenient close to I-95.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
We're glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the Doubletree by Hilton, Norwalk. We're easy to get to, located just off exit 13 and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Of course, your warm chocolate chip cookie will be waiting just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
286 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

When in Norwalk, I always stay at the Doubletree and being a diamond member I was upgraded to the club floor. Very nice room and club lounge has free wine and beer as well as snacks in the evening. The hotel is located very close to exit 13 off of I-95. Good location. There are a number of restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Stay on the Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your loyalty and membership in our hHonors program. All guests are welcome to sign up for this wonderful rewards program where you can earn points and miles for your stays at Hilton Hotels, along with cool perks like room upgrades. Many guests share your perspective about our easily accessible location. Our future guests will rest-assured knowing that their warm chocolate cookie will be waiting, just a quick easy turn off of the highway at exit 13. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
489 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel has been refurbished. It is a high volume property and is starting to show its age. Definitely request a room on the north side of the building (not I-95 side) as it can be a bit noisy. The A/C unit in our room was also on the loud side... the white noise partially cancelled I-95 traffic noise. The staff are friendly and professional. Beds are comfy. Breakfast is buffet style with decent options but can be steep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
At the Doubletree by Hilton, we've taken great care to cultivate a hotel that's as warm as our chocolate chip cookie. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our first trip to this hotel was in Feburary 2011. We chose this hotel for the price and the pool. They were able to put us in 2 rooms with an adjoining door as we have 3 children. We were very disappointed when being in the pool for a matter of minutes, it had to be shut down. The hotel did comp us a free nights stay seeing that swimming was all we had planned on for our Feb. vacation.
We were back at the hotel Sept. 9-11 and were very pleased. The pool was open and the water was very warm to swim in. Bring your own water toys. The buffet breakfast was a good value seeing that our kids ate free with an adult buffet. Lots to choose from on the buffet and omelet station was yummy. We did not eat lunch or dinner there as it didn't appear to be open the hrs. stated at the hotel. Rooms are large, comfortable beds, and large tv's.
Our second stay here was great and would stay here again with our family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thanks for being a loyal guest. There's no greater compliment than when our guests choose to visit us over and over again. Many of our friendly staff members have been welcoming guests to the hotel for quite some time so there's no doubt you will see some familiar faces when you return. So, wether you've visited us before or your newcomer we can't wait to say, "Welcome".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is easy to find (even for those of us that are "directionally challenged" as it is immediately off exit 13 of I-95. The hotel is clean, and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Cable TV is good with free HBO. We were with a wedding that had a special rate but we actually got the same rate (WITH breakfast included) with AARP. The toilet was slow to flush. We were on the Hilton Honors floor, which was nice... almost a junior suite... and very quiet. We asked the desk personnel for directions to a local restaurant I had found on line and were hoping for a map. No maps. And, the directions he printed out were to the same address but in Stamford. But he was nice as was the manager. Also liked that they emailed us prior to our visit and asked if we would like anything special and they DID have the requested extra pillows and towels for us.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors program... this will put you on the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNorwalk, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Doubletree by Hilton, Norwalk. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
4.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
3.5 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Address: 789 Connecticut Avenue, Norwalk, CT 06854-1615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#6 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your stay with our Norwalk hotel with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy the convenience of our proximity to local attractions such as the Maritime Aquarium, Stepping Stones Museum and the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion. Our hotel in Norwalk, CT is just 30 minutes from Westchester County Airport. Be sure to plan ahead for the Norwalk Oyster Festival and book your stay for Labor Day weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree - Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing