We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Let me first say that I am a very discriminating person and was somewhat hesitant to book this hotel due to their ongoing renovations.

I reserved a block of rooms for out-of-town relatives,including my husband and I, for my daughter's wedding. What I found upon arrival was a very welcoming staff. I cannot say enough about my experience. I would especialy like to mention Marisa at the front desk. She went out of her way to insure a great guest experience. The owner, Chris, was always there and very attentive.

Staying at the Norwalk Inn was like staying with family. Yes, some of the rooms have a long way to go before the final renovations are completed. However, dispite this, the place was spotless. We had a renovated room with hardwood floors. I never walk barefoot in a hotel room, however, this one was an exception. I did not have that scuzzy feeling at all!

We had an "after party" at the bar the night of my daughter's wedding. The staff was attentive and the food delicious. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel, however, my husband and others said that it was adequate. Although we did not have lunch or dinner at the restaurant, I did see several people eating there and portions were generous and looked very appetizing.

The only reason that I did not give this property an excellent rating was because of the renovations. However, I look forward to visiting again and taking advantage of the new and improved Norwalk Inn! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room. This hotel does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulani02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    78
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
70
41
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The rooms are attractive and clean. Service is good. They are renovating and updating the building adding a 3rd floor so will be much better in future. NO elevator. Food is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

stayed here for just 1 night we were just visiting the area. the receptionist was super nice. i mean really really nice. the only problem i had was my room. when we walked into the room the housekeeper said she just finished our room and my husband and I walked in closed the door and we were greeted by a huge fly. we opened the door and started to chase it out then 5 min later there was another one. we had to chase out 3 flies. the wall paper in the room was peeling and looked a little old. the room had a funky smell to it. and the building is going under big renovations. the staff was the only reason they got a more than a 3 also the beds were uncomfortable. it was super cheap ($79) so i guess you get what you pay for

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

When you are looking for a place to stay that feels like home, you must stay at the Norwalk Inn and Conference Center at 125 East Ave in Norwalk, CT. The staff is so friendly and you will probably meet the owner and his family because they are there every day. The hotel has a very nice restaurant and also a family friendly bar/cafe. The outdoor pool is wonderful in the summer. This hotel also has special conference rooms if you need to have a business meeting. These rooms are equipted with state of the art TV's, projectors, and everything you would need.

I love staying at this hotel because they go out of their way to make you feel special. The hotel is just two blocks from Norwak City Hall and about 1/2 mile from the train station where you can get a train to New York. The City of Norwalk is on the Sound and is very centrally located for anything you might want to do in Connecticut. There is plenty of parking at the hotel and all parking is free.

During the week, your room rate also includes a wonderful breakfast buffet. Not those cheap buffets where the eggs taste like rubber, but a really nice breakfast that has been freshly made with a lot of variety. You can't beat this deal!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeWittry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed May 2 - 6, 2012. I traveled and stayed in many nice hotels. This hotelt is up there. The price is very very reasonable.
The landscaping is breath taking. The restaurant and bar are gorgeous. The seafood dish Fra Diavlo was the best I have ever had, the shrimp were huge, the service very good. Morning breakfast buffet was included for my trip. Overall a great experience.
Location is actually very convienient. One freeway exit from South Norwalk and Merrit 7.
Definatly worth staying, I would categorize it as an A+ alternative to chain hotels for business and pleasure ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Kurig coffee machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirvana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

THE VERY GOOD: Best seafood linguine EVER. EVER! The Saturday night waiter realllllllllllly made you feel welcome... The front desk really rocks...consistently great people...kind and helpful. The blonde woman on the night shift just great. The maid service decent enough!

THE GOOD/GREAT The room itself. Updated with Keuring coffee (!!!) makers, that oval shower curtain holder, big flat screen, and a tv in the bathroom! Phone in the bathroom too! NOT BAD for a smaller inn.

THE BAD: No elevator? What the? What happens with handicapped guests? They are renovating: free parking but needs repaving, construction guys tended to shout as they walk through the lobby, pool is drained though it was middle of May (maybe open in June?). There is ONE lobby computer...no real business center...it is free but gets used a LOT...front desk helping with reboot.

THE REALLY UGLY: Stayed there on Mother's day weekend...no mom's day brunch and restaurant CLOSED that night...no biggie...business trip...but after working 12 hours and find out the restaurant is closed...in a hotel...and nearest food blocks away...anybody really think THAT one out? Hallway NOT airconditioned and pretty warm/muggy. Charging for Sunday morning continental breakfast (free otherwise)...and charging folks for coffee?

THE REALLY REALLY UGLY: ABSOLUTELY understaffed for breakfast am...buffet emptied and no tables bussed...waited 10 minutes for an indifferent waiter and found him TWICE just hiding and chatting with the cook. OK, but...how about clearing a table or replacing the emptied milk?

Overall, I really would stay there again...for biz...but hope that things get better...

Room Tip: I was in 236 and certainly decent room...make SURE you get something updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

My father and I stayed here for nearly a week recently. This is clearly a property run by people who care, and run a tight ship. I appreciated the thoughtful extras, such as a complimentary newspaper on weekdays, Keurig coffeemakers in the rooms, along with real half-and-half, and daily delivery of bottled water. The staff were efficient and helpful. The room was clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. In short, a very solid, middle-of-the road establishment, but more thoughtfully maintained than many similiar properties. My only regret was the lack of a private guest sitting room, where I could have read my book in peace after my early-to-bed father turned out the lights. Overall, I recommend the Norwalk Inn highly for a reliably solid experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeromehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwalk hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
1.9 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 12 in Norwalk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Norwalk
Econo Lodge Norwalk
#9 of 12 in Norwalk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwalk Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwalk Inn & Conference Center

Property: Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Address: 99 East Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851-5001
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norwalk Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely sequestered in a residential setting, accommodations at the Norwalk Inn and Conference Center feature cable television, individual climate control units, telephones with data-ports and voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, iron-ironing board and refrigerators. Guests have USA Today newspaper delivery and full, complimentary breakfast service on weekdays when you book direct on hotel's site. The Inn also boasts a fitness center with sauna and steam bath, an outdoor pool, lovely gardens, and fine dining at Adam's Rib Restaurant. Custom business services are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norwalk Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing